Voltage transformer output question


  #1  
Old 05-25-15, 10:37 AM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 2
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Voltage transformer output question

hi All,

got a quick question since I have gave all my AC/DC knowledge back to my high school teacher. for a 1000 Watt voltage transformer, does it mean its output is always at 1000 Watt or depends on the consuming devices plugged in?

thx
 
  #2  
Old 05-25-15, 11:01 AM
E
Member
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 647
Received 5 Upvotes on 5 Posts
I gave most of my knowledge back to middle school but I'm pretty sure it depends on the load.

If you only had 1 light as your only electric device and it was turned off I don't think your electric meter would move as if it were on.
 
  #3  
Old 05-25-15, 11:20 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 14,269
Received 860 Upvotes on 723 Posts
It depends on what is connected to the transformer. Max output of the transformer is 1000 watts. You can exceed that but it will cause the transformer to fail sooner or the device not to run properly. Power company generally exceeds their transformer ratings all the time. They run more efficient the closer they are to max load minus losses of course.
 
  #4  
Old 05-25-15, 04:35 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 2
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the clarification. Tolyn.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: