Voltage transformer output question

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-25-15, 10:37 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 2
Voltage transformer output question

hi All,

got a quick question since I have gave all my AC/DC knowledge back to my high school teacher. for a 1000 Watt voltage transformer, does it mean its output is always at 1000 Watt or depends on the consuming devices plugged in?

thx
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-25-15, 11:01 AM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 533
I gave most of my knowledge back to middle school but I'm pretty sure it depends on the load.

If you only had 1 light as your only electric device and it was turned off I don't think your electric meter would move as if it were on.
 
  #3  
Old 05-25-15, 11:20 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,284
It depends on what is connected to the transformer. Max output of the transformer is 1000 watts. You can exceed that but it will cause the transformer to fail sooner or the device not to run properly. Power company generally exceeds their transformer ratings all the time. They run more efficient the closer they are to max load minus losses of course.
 
  #4  
Old 05-25-15, 04:35 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 2
Thanks for the clarification. Tolyn.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes