Help with basement wiring Dilemma

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-27-15, 02:42 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 4
Help with basement wiring Dilemma

Hello,

I have a staircase to the basement with a 3 way at the top and a 3 way at the bottom that controls a can light at the bottom of the stairs. There is also a single gang switch in this 2 gang box at the bottom of the stairs that controls can lights in the room. I needed to add another 3 way for the other room in the basement. I took pictures of the wiring when I pulled out the 3 way and single gang switches from the 2 gang box. I then disconnected the wires from the switches. Next I took out the 2 gang box and added a 3 gang. I then added the 3 way for the other room and that is working fine. I now needed to rewire the 3 way for the hall light and the single pole for the can lights. And that's where the problem comes in. The pictures are not on my phone and now I'm stuck. I have 14-3 wire coming into the box from the upstairs 3 way switch and 14-2 wire coming into the box from the light at the bottom of the stairs. I then have 14-3 wiring coming into the box from the can lights (power from the fixture) with the red wire being the hot wire. I drew a diagram of this also but the site isn't allowing me to upload anything. It just spins indefinitely on the progress bar for the file upload manager. Any chance you can tell me how I need to hook this back up. Thanks in advance.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-27-15, 02:48 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,677
Keep your images to 1000 px or less wide and it should upload. Otherwise reduce the file size or upload to a photo hosting site and post the URL.

Is this another switch for the existing 3-way circuit or a new circuit?
 
  #3  
Old 05-27-15, 04:13 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,512
You have a three wire cable coming from the upstairs switch and a two wire cable to the light. That is most likely it's own circuit.

This wiring is assuming your powering the upstairs three way switch from upstairs. If that were true you would find 120v on one of the three wires downstairs.
Connect the black from the light to the common on the three way switch.
Connect the white from the light to the white of the three wire cable from upstairs.
That leaves you with red and black from the three wire. Connect them to the remaining terminals of the three way switch.

If you do not find power on the three wire coming from upstairs then you'll need to follow the following diagram.

Name:  cust3W.jpg
Views: 111
Size:  18.2 KB
 
  #4  
Old 05-27-15, 04:17 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 4
" Is this another switch for the existing 3-way circuit or a new circuit?"

I don't fully understand your question but based on what I think you are asking...

There is nothing new for this. The 3 way for the Hall light at the bottom of the stairs and the single pole for the basement can lights were wired when the house was built in 2009. There is one 15amp breaker powering both the single pole for the can lights and the 3 ways for the single can in the hall light. I pulled the wires out of the 2 gang box and back into a 3 gang box and can't figure out how to hook it back up the same way since the pictures I took are lost.

Here is a link to the diagram
http://s10.postimg.org/kn9l9g2bt/Bas...ram_Page_1.jpg

Thanks
 
  #5  
Old 05-27-15, 04:50 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 4
PJMax - I'm getting closer. I wired everything per the diagram you posted as that matches my situation. The can lights in the room downstairs are back on but the power is not flowing to the 3way. When I put a voltage tester on the black wire coming from the 3 way to the wire nut connecting the red hot wire and the black from the single pole, there is no power. There is power on the red wire and both blacks on the single pole. Odd. Any ideas?
 
  #6  
Old 05-28-15, 05:39 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 4
I figured it out.

I ended up having to switch the red and blacks on the 14-3 coming in from the basement can lights and the red and blacks coming down from the 3 way upstairs. Everything is working again. Thanks for your assistance.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'