Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

Home sink disposal working on plug that acts weirdly to testers

Home sink disposal working on plug that acts weirdly to testers

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-27-15, 04:51 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 4
Home sink disposal working on plug that acts weirdly to testers

In-Sink-Erator disposal stopped under heavy usage. Reset button wouldn't immediately hold & unit was hot, so not surprised. Checked plug with "Snapit" circuit tester to be sure there was no power issue. Got no reading on tester (all 3 lights off). Tester label says that means "Open Hot." Checked, and no breakers tripped. Waited till unit cooled down and the reset button would hold. Then unit ran correctly again. Unplugged unit and plugged tester back in. Same reading (all 3 lights off). Tried tester on different plug and it displayed correctly (light 1 off, lights 2 & 3 green). Tried a different tester (A.W. Sperry Instruments) and got the same results (all 3 lights off on the plug where the disposal plugs in; light one off, lights 2 & 3 yellow). Yet, disposal works fine when connected to that same plug.

Could there be that the plug is incorrectly wired that makes it show "Open Hot" on 2 testers, but still provides electricity to make disposal run? I looked & there is a black wire plugged in at the top on one side, a white wire plugged in on the top on the opposite side, and a green wire screwed to the post at the bottom.

This seems weird.

Thanks,
Paul
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-27-15, 04:55 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,052
Those testers aren't allays accurate. A cheap analog (but not digital) multimeter is a better choice for testing.
 
  #3  
Old 05-27-15, 05:02 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,399
What kind of disposal do you have, a "batch" type where you stuff it full and then insert the stopper to turn it on or a "continuous feed" model where you have a separate switch that turns it on? If a continuous feed did you remember to turn the switch on when using your tester?
 
  #4  
Old 05-27-15, 06:17 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,588
You may have a failing switch or a connection issue.
 
  #5  
Old 05-27-15, 06:43 PM
JosiQDIY2015's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: United States of America
Posts: 126
If a continuous feed did you remember to turn the switch on when using your tester?



It may sounds funny and incredible, but yes a lot of people who tend to use those testers usually forget to turn on switches that supply power to some outlets before testing them. Therefore the tester will not turn a single light... but it was obvious that the outlet had electrical power before. That's why I always recommend that whenever a GFCI/Circuit Tester is used, a Non Contact Volt Detector should be also used at the same time to first confirm that the outlets are receiving actual electrical power at that precise moment... then proceed to test the outlets with the GFCI/circuit tester.

A Non Contact Volt Detector will help to remember the person that the switch that supply power to the outlet needs indeed to be turned on first.


Thanks.


Jos
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes