Ac110v 3w g4 led

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-29-15, 08:40 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 58
Ac110v 3w g4 led

I bought new 8 X AC110V 3W G4 LEDs to use with my light fixture which has a transformer in it that converts AC110V into AC12V, do I need to remove that transformer and connect my light fixture directly to the main line in order to use these new LED's?

I did a test and regular G4 bulbs work with the transformer but these new AC110V 3W leds only work when I bypass the transformer but is it safe or do they also need some kind of transformer?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-29-15, 08:45 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,643
Assuming they will work on 120 volts no need for a transformer.
 
  #3  
Old 05-29-15, 08:58 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 58
If the main outlet is 120V wouldn't I need 120V to 110V converter. Also not sure but is the 120V splits up into 8 since there are 8 LEDS (meaning each LED gets around 15V?)
 
  #4  
Old 05-29-15, 09:04 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,643
The 110v spec is probably stupidity on the part of whoever wrote the instructions. If it isn't from Ebay it should have been made to work on a 120 volt U.S. circuit.
Also not sure but is the 120V splits up into 8 since there are 8 LEDS (meaning each LED gets around 15V?)
If they are series wired but not if they are parallel wired. How are they wired?
 
  #5  
Old 05-29-15, 09:14 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 58
I can wire them parallel but right now they are all directly connected to the main wire.
 
  #6  
Old 05-29-15, 09:22 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,643
I can wire them parallel but right now they are all directly connected to the main wire
That statement doesn't make sense. Regardless of parallel or series the will be connected to the main wire. Parallel or series is just how they are connected.

Name:  x.jpg
Views: 48
Size:  21.7 KB
 

Last edited by ray2047; 05-29-15 at 09:45 AM.
  #7  
Old 05-29-15, 09:56 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 58
So that would be parallel then
 
  #8  
Old 05-29-15, 11:17 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,643
So that would be parallel then
What is "that"? .
 
  #9  
Old 05-29-15, 12:03 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 58
Sorry, my setup is in a parallel configuration.
 
  #10  
Old 05-29-15, 12:36 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,643
Then each bulb is 120 volts.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'