Disposal/Dishwasher Breaker

Old 06-03-15, 06:59 AM
R
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Disposal/Dishwasher Breaker

I am not an electrician by any means, but I have tried to troubleshoot this problem for over a week now and cannot figure it out.

About a week ago my dishwasher and disposal outlet/switch stopped working. Currently this is setup by power coming into the switch above the sink, and splits the Hot wire to the switch and the other half goes down to the outlet under the sink. This way half the outlet has power all the time for the dishwasher and the other half of the outlet is controlled by the switch for the disposal. I'm assuming this is normal.

I went out to by breaker box and the breaker was flipped so I reset it and went back in but the switch and outlet still had no power. At that time my breakers were not labeled on the breaker box so I spent the rest of that night going through the entire house for outlets and lights to determine what was on what breaker. From what I can tell there is nothing else that I can find that is on the breaker with the disposal/dishwasher.

I tested the power coming out of each breaker and all of them read 120V, yet I have nothing at the switch where the power comes into the box. I tried switching the breaker with one that I know works yet no change at the switch.