Main service panel

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-02-15, 10:00 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 2
Question Main service panel

I have a 3 meter socket service panel and all the main disconnects are at 60A. I need to upgrade may 60a main breaker to a 200A. The service panel is rated at 400A
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-02-15, 10:16 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,588
A 200 amp panel should be fine for those loads. Why are you looking at a 400 amp panel? Are you adding large loads?
 
  #3  
Old 06-02-15, 10:19 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 2
The service panel is a Challenger three meter 400A with 3 Service disconnects at 60A each. Can one be change to 200a?
 
  #4  
Old 06-03-15, 06:32 AM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 3,314
Need more info on the service panel,it must state largest breakers that can be installed,I doubt you will get a 200 Amp breaker to replace a 60.
Geo
 
  #5  
Old 06-03-15, 05:03 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,284
A picture would be very helpful.
 
  #6  
Old 06-20-15, 12:35 PM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 1
Home Inspector suggested replacing panel but electrician says it meets code

Do i need to replace it as a seller even if there are no evident issues?


Name:  IMG_3241.jpg
Views: 178
Size:  25.9 KBName:  IMG_3242.jpg
Views: 98
Size:  41.7 KBName:  IMG_3243.jpg
Views: 111
Size:  50.1 KBName:  IMG_3244.jpg
Views: 131
Size:  38.0 KBName:  IMG_3249.jpg
Views: 158
Size:  41.1 KB
 
  #7  
Old 06-20-15, 12:52 PM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,030
Do i need to replace it as a seller even if there are no evident issues?
Something is not right with that panel but unless there is a local law you don't have to replace. Whatever the inspection report says becomes negotiating between you and the seller. Sometimes suggest/recommend can be ignored. Sometimes you give the buyer a credit. And sometimes you fix before selling.

Look at it this way: If the inspector recommends that you add an extra bathroom, would you do it?
 
  #8  
Old 06-20-15, 07:26 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,588
I don't know why they would suggest replacing a Cutler-Hammer panel.
 
  #9  
Old 06-20-15, 07:57 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,588
It looks like there is no main breaker and the panel is only fed with three wires so there does not look like a disconnect is ahead of that panel.
 
  #10  
Old 06-21-15, 06:09 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,385
It looks like a 200 amp 40 circuit CH series Cutler-Hammer panel. It appears there is room at the top for a main breaker, but you didn't show a picture of the entire panel with the door open. It also appears the panel is fed with 4/0 aluminum SEU cable. I have two concerns from what I can see in the pictures. The first is the tandem breaker at the top right of the panel. If this is a 40 circuit panel it is a CTL panel and that tandem breaker is non-CTL and a code violation to be in this panel. My second concern is the two breakers with black handles at the top left of the panel. I have never seen a CH series breaker that didn't have a tan colored handle. I suppose these could be U.L. Classified breakers from some other manufacturer, but it's impossible to tell from the pictures. Can you post a picture of the entire panel with the cover/door removed?
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes