Main service panel


  #1  
Old 06-02-15, 09:00 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 2
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Question Main service panel

I have a 3 meter socket service panel and all the main disconnects are at 60A. I need to upgrade may 60a main breaker to a 200A. The service panel is rated at 400A
 
  #2  
Old 06-02-15, 09:16 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 13,979
Received 194 Upvotes on 170 Posts
A 200 amp panel should be fine for those loads. Why are you looking at a 400 amp panel? Are you adding large loads?
 
  #3  
Old 06-02-15, 09:19 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 2
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
The service panel is a Challenger three meter 400A with 3 Service disconnects at 60A each. Can one be change to 200a?
 
  #4  
Old 06-03-15, 05:32 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5,082
Received 161 Upvotes on 147 Posts
Need more info on the service panel,it must state largest breakers that can be installed,I doubt you will get a 200 Amp breaker to replace a 60.
Geo
 
  #5  
Old 06-03-15, 04:03 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 14,338
Received 878 Upvotes on 741 Posts
A picture would be very helpful.
 
  #6  
Old 06-20-15, 11:35 AM
R
Member
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 1
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Home Inspector suggested replacing panel but electrician says it meets code

Do i need to replace it as a seller even if there are no evident issues?


Name:  IMG_3241.jpg
Views: 280
Size:  25.9 KBName:  IMG_3242.jpg
Views: 177
Size:  41.7 KBName:  IMG_3243.jpg
Views: 169
Size:  50.1 KBName:  IMG_3244.jpg
Views: 228
Size:  38.0 KBName:  IMG_3249.jpg
Views: 381
Size:  41.1 KB
 
  #7  
Old 06-20-15, 11:52 AM
A
Member
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,499
Received 92 Upvotes on 84 Posts
Do i need to replace it as a seller even if there are no evident issues?
Something is not right with that panel but unless there is a local law you don't have to replace. Whatever the inspection report says becomes negotiating between you and the seller. Sometimes suggest/recommend can be ignored. Sometimes you give the buyer a credit. And sometimes you fix before selling.

Look at it this way: If the inspector recommends that you add an extra bathroom, would you do it?
 
  #8  
Old 06-20-15, 06:26 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 13,979
Received 194 Upvotes on 170 Posts
I don't know why they would suggest replacing a Cutler-Hammer panel.
 
  #9  
Old 06-20-15, 06:57 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 13,979
Received 194 Upvotes on 170 Posts
It looks like there is no main breaker and the panel is only fed with three wires so there does not look like a disconnect is ahead of that panel.
 
  #10  
Old 06-21-15, 05:09 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 9,872
Received 185 Upvotes on 166 Posts
It looks like a 200 amp 40 circuit CH series Cutler-Hammer panel. It appears there is room at the top for a main breaker, but you didn't show a picture of the entire panel with the door open. It also appears the panel is fed with 4/0 aluminum SEU cable. I have two concerns from what I can see in the pictures. The first is the tandem breaker at the top right of the panel. If this is a 40 circuit panel it is a CTL panel and that tandem breaker is non-CTL and a code violation to be in this panel. My second concern is the two breakers with black handles at the top left of the panel. I have never seen a CH series breaker that didn't have a tan colored handle. I suppose these could be U.L. Classified breakers from some other manufacturer, but it's impossible to tell from the pictures. Can you post a picture of the entire panel with the cover/door removed?
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: