cut stud to center electrical box?

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-03-15, 04:32 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 58
cut stud to center electrical box?

how would i go about moving a 3 gang electrical box on a load bearing wall when its up against studs on both sides?

im being very nit picky its only because the wall plate overlaps the door trim
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-03-15, 04:33 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,439
Is the wall still open or closed in already ?
 
  #3  
Old 06-04-15, 05:26 AM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 2,850
1. Install a new full length stud next to the stud you are thinking of cutting. Then cut the stud in question so you can move the electrical box over the 1-1/2 inches or so.

2. Use a duplex switch to replace two single switches (or two duplexes replacing three singles if you think that looks better) and convert to a two gang box leaving the studs unchanged.
 
  #4  
Old 06-04-15, 03:30 PM
Mr.Awesome's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Canada, SK
Posts: 576
(assuming a finished wall)
Are you sure there is studs on both sides? That very well may be the case but it seems too coincidental that a 3 gang box fit perfectly between the studs. Perhaps the side furthest from the door frame just has a "wing", or a small piece of 2x4 screwed to the side of it to give some extra stability to the box.
Pop the screws on that side and see if you can stick a driver through the holes and move the 2x4.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'