Pressure switch wiring on Sanborn compressor

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-06-15, 09:11 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Pressure switch wiring on Sanborn compressor

Hello everyone i have a old sunborn v-twin compressor with a Guardian tank, and a b381 dual voltage motor. i have the motor set for 220, but i don't know how to wire from the motor to the pressure switch any help would be appreciated, and upon request i will provide any pictures you need.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-06-15, 11:28 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,615
Received 514 Votes on 484 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Could that be a Sanborn compressor ?
What horsepower is the motor..... it shows as one or two HP ?

Can you remove the top of the pressure switch, take a picture and post it here.
http://www.doityourself.com/forum/el...rt-images.html

The pressure switch should have four terminals and look similar to the well pressure switch below.

Name:  well-pump-pressure-switch-wiring.jpg
Views: 5377
Size:  35.9 KB
 
  #3  
Old 06-07-15, 12:41 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hey, Thanks. Its good to be here. I have added a few pictures, it seems i made a typo it is a sanborn compressor. Also as you can see in the picture, it only has 2 terminals on the pressure switch. it shows 2 spl on the hp output, and on the neck of the pressure switch it says 1 1/2 horse on 110 2hp on 220.
Name:  DSCF3127[1].jpg
Views: 1453
Size:  49.4 KB Name:  DSCF3128[1].jpg
Views: 1682
Size:  51.3 KBName:  DSCF3125[1].jpg
Views: 1067
Size:  42.5 KB
 
  #4  
Old 06-07-15, 05:56 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 4,173
Received 25 Votes on 24 Posts
Any model number on that pressure switch? Almost looks like it was wired 120.
Geo
 
  #5  
Old 06-07-15, 10:27 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,615
Received 514 Votes on 484 Posts
From where I'm standing it looks to be missing switch contacts. That pressure switch needs to be replaced.

Name:  DSCF3127[1].jpg
Views: 1047
Size:  40.2 KB
 
  #6  
Old 06-07-15, 10:33 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 4,173
Received 25 Votes on 24 Posts
Check this link out especially at the very end, replace the switch and make sure the tank has the correct pressure relief.
http://www.cpsc.gov//PageFiles/80187/sanborn5.pdf
Geo
 
  #7  
Old 06-07-15, 10:50 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,615
Received 514 Votes on 484 Posts
I don't doubt there are issues with them. I had the same exact compressor. I bought mine on time payments from the Snap On guy. It cost me a small fortune and then I put a small fortune into it.

It came with a good Century motor. That's it. I went thru valve reed plates and gaskets. I installed my own relief valve. I installed my own pressure switch with a contactor. The compressed air was so hot it would burn up the Sanborn check valves. I ended up putting on a teflon check valve. The Dial-O-Matic never worked right so I had my own pressure regulator on the wall next to it with a tool oiler.

Mine had a "2" HP motor on it that I ran on 240v. Too many amps draw for 120V operation.
 
  #8  
Old 06-07-15, 12:02 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
no model number that i can find, i will check and make sure everything is working as it should, and i will get a pressure switch for a 240 volt setup. Also as far as the wiring goes, do the hot wires run to the switch and then from it to the line in's on the motor?
 
  #9  
Old 06-07-15, 06:52 PM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 4,173
Received 25 Votes on 24 Posts
That would be correct,and is the power going to be supplied by a cord and plug or a disconnect switch? The pressure switch should show Line and Load.
Geo
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: