Bad GFI receptacle ?

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-07-15, 11:53 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 8
Bad GFI receptacle ?

Hello all,

In master bath, one outlet (non GFI) stopped running a hairdryer. It was an itermittent problem at first, but constant now.
I replaced the outlet thinking it was the problem, but no change.

I did some detective work, and here's what I found:

Four regular outlets wired back to one GFI outlet.

A nite light works in all outlets, but a hairdryer doesn't work in 2:
the one regular outlet, and the GFI outlet

The GFI never trips, but seems to reset ok otherwise after the test button is pressed

Any thoughts?
Thank you, Mike
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-07-15, 12:11 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,354
I suspect a loose connection. Do you have a multimeter?
 
  #3  
Old 06-07-15, 12:17 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 8
Bad GFI?

I think I do have a multi meter..i'd need a tutorial on how to use it and what I'm looking for
 
  #4  
Old 06-07-15, 01:04 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 3,120
Try the dryer in another outlet somewhere in the house,sounds like the dryer maybe the issue.
Geo
 
  #5  
Old 06-07-15, 01:30 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,460
It sounds like the GFI is being fed from one of the regular receptacles.
Can we assume you are not using the load (output) side of the GFI ?

You are going to need to figure out the order they are wired in to correct the problem. It may require you to pull out (but don't disconnect) all five devices to map out the wiring.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'