Pump Amperage

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-08-15, 07:00 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 121
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Pump Amperage

I just installed a new 1/2 HP sump pump.

The specs say it consumes: 9.4 run Amps / 29.2 start Amps

It is on a dedicated 20A circuit.

Am I going to have tripping issues because of starting amperage? Does the pump need to be replaced for a smaller one?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-08-15, 07:38 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,100
Received 373 Votes on 350 Posts
You shouldn't have any problems. The breakers are designed to take in account startup amperages.
A 20A circuit is correct for that pump.
 
  #3  
Old 06-08-15, 07:41 PM
Member
Join Date: May 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 3,138
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
No it'll be fine. The starting surge last a very short time, too short to pop the breaker. This is typical for motors.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: