Pump Amperage


  #1  
Old 06-08-15, 06:00 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 121
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Pump Amperage

I just installed a new 1/2 HP sump pump.

The specs say it consumes: 9.4 run Amps / 29.2 start Amps

It is on a dedicated 20A circuit.

Am I going to have tripping issues because of starting amperage? Does the pump need to be replaced for a smaller one?
 
  #2  
Old 06-08-15, 06:38 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 70,045
Received 2,949 Votes on 2,662 Posts
You shouldn't have any problems. The breakers are designed to take in account startup amperages.
A 20A circuit is correct for that pump.
 
  #3  
Old 06-08-15, 06:41 PM
C
Member
Join Date: May 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 3,176
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
No it'll be fine. The starting surge last a very short time, too short to pop the breaker. This is typical for motors.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: