MBR outlets not working

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-09-15, 07:35 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 4
MBR outlets not working

Just had thunderstorm roll through, power went out. Power came back on and MBR and additional BR lights were not working. Went out to breaker box, these 2 breakers were tripped. Reset breakers. MBR outlets still not working (all 5 are not showing any juice). Checked all GFCI's inside and outside. Reset all breakers in box. MBR outlets still not working. Is it time to call an electrician or am I missing something? I am female and will not touch electrical in my house, just too scared of it. Just want to make sure there isn't something else I can check before I make the call to the electrician. Thanks for your help.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-09-15, 08:23 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,643
If you don't have a multimeter and aren't comfortable using one in the panel call the power company emergency number and ask them to check things on their side.
 
  #3  
Old 06-09-15, 08:34 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 4
Forgot info

Forgot to mention that the lights are back on in both bedrooms. It is just the 5 wall outlets that are not working now. They were fine prior to the storm. Not sure how the power company would be involved with only 5 breakers, can you please clarify? Thank you!
 
  #4  
Old 06-09-15, 09:19 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,643
Probably you don't need to call the power company in that case. Have you read http://www.doityourself.com/forum/el...ther-info.html.
 
  #5  
Old 06-09-15, 09:33 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 4
Thanks for your help

Yes, I have been reading lots the past 3 hours. Unfortunately I have just now put in a call to an electrician. I don't think this is something I can fix. I appreciate your input.
 
  #6  
Old 06-09-15, 10:35 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,643
Please let us know the outcome.
 
  #7  
Old 06-09-15, 10:50 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New England
Posts: 9,831
Just reading through the thread and wanted to double check a couple of simple steps.
1. When you reset some breaker, you should flip in the off direction first and then back on.
2. You said you checked all GFI receptacles, but they can be hidden in strange locations and not necessarily in the room with the problem. Check the hall, behind the bed and furniture or, hate to say it, even the basement.

Good luck,
Bud
 
  #8  
Old 06-15-15, 12:42 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 4
Problem solved....and another found

Electrician came out today and found the problem. Said that one of the outlets had a neutral wiring (?) and that it is possible the outlets could have gone off at any time. Probably a coincidence that it occurred when the power went off.

On another note, when the electrician was taking off the cover to the breaker panel, he got an arcing. When he removed the panel, he found that the supply lines (two large lines coming in from outside meter box) had not been tucked properly and that the screws had penetrated the insulation of these lines. One screw had gone all the way through. Said it could have happened when house was built or possibly when home inspector did our inspection. Needless to say, I am glad that I haven't had anything bad happen due to that situation and he is giving me a quote for repairs.

Thanks for all of your assistance the other night. It's nice to know there are forums around to help out us little old ladies.
 
  #9  
Old 06-16-15, 07:28 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,212
When he removed the panel, he found that the supply lines (two large lines coming in from outside meter box) had not been tucked properly and that the screws had penetrated the insulation of these lines.
The panel box is obviously not grounded. Most likely the neutral bonding screw or strap was never installed. I hope your electrician fixed this too.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'