120 v receptacle from this breaker?

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-10-15, 01:03 PM
sgull's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: AK
Posts: 2,601
120 v receptacle from this breaker?

The lower right "double" breaker in this photo was being used to power a 2-foot long baseboard heater rated at "208/240v" on the sticker on the heater. But I'd like to get rid of the baseboard heater and in its place install a 120v wall receptacle. Is this feasible/possible/doable or is that a big no-no or other complications to consider? There's two wires, a red and black, coming out from the conduit which connect(ed) to the baseboard heater. Any comments appreciated.

 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-10-15, 01:07 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,515
It is do-able if you're able to pull a white wire through that same conduit.
 
  #3  
Old 06-10-15, 01:34 PM
sgull's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: AK
Posts: 2,601
It is do-able if you're able to pull a white wire through that same conduit.
I'd be able to pull a white wire though that same conduit. What point (terminal) on the breaker do I connect this white wire to? And what then do I do with the red wire? Any further explanation appreciated. thanks
 
  #4  
Old 06-10-15, 01:47 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,588
Remove and cap the red. The white goes to the neutral bar, not the breaker.
 
  #5  
Old 06-10-15, 02:11 PM
sgull's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: AK
Posts: 2,601
Here's a photo of the business with the panel cover removed.



None of the breakers along the left side go to or do anything anymore.

The breaker probably has a black and white wire.
Actually as can be seen, it has a red and white wire connected to its terminals.

Remove and cap the red. The white goes to the neutral bar, not the breaker.
"Remove" the red? You mean to say disconnect it from the breaker terminal then cap the disconnected end?

The white goes to the neutral bar, not the breaker.
The white wire that I would be pulling through the conduit? That white wire?

I'm still unclear/confused, obviously.
 
  #6  
Old 06-10-15, 02:57 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,052
"Remove" the red? You mean to say disconnect it from the breaker terminal then cap the disconnected end?
Yes, or use it to pull in a white wire in as you pull the red wire out.
The white goes to the neutral bar, not the breaker.
The white wire that I would be pulling through the conduit? That white wire?
Yes, that white wire.

In my now deleted response I was referring to cable. I missed that you had conduit. Note the receptacle will need to have a green ground wire connected to the receptacle box.
 
  #7  
Old 06-10-15, 03:22 PM
sgull's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: AK
Posts: 2,601
So it would be possible (but probably against all code/safety advice, etc) to simply disconnect the red from the breaker and connect it to the neutral bar (using it as the neutral wire to the receptacle in place of a properly colored white wire)? That would then render that breaker to proper voltage for the receptacle? Not saying that's what I plan on doing but just want to make sure I have enough understanding here.
 
  #8  
Old 06-10-15, 05:08 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,052
By code the neutral must be factory colored white or gray if it is #6 or smaller.
 
  #9  
Old 06-10-15, 05:30 PM
sgull's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: AK
Posts: 2,601
By code the neutral must be factory colored white or gray if it is #6 or smaller.
I see. Thanks ray. I'll make sure then my neutral will be factory-colored as such.

Now here's a photo of an old receptacle I dug up which I was thinking of utilizing for the project I've mentioned. How do I connect it to my single black and single white (or gray) wires? Just connect my black wire to either of the gold terminals and my white (or gray) wire to either of the silver terminals?

 
  #10  
Old 06-10-15, 06:14 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,588
That would be correct. Those look like back wired, not backstabbed
 

Last edited by pcboss; 06-10-15 at 08:26 PM.
  #11  
Old 06-10-15, 06:42 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,052
To add to what PCBoss wrote back wires means you insert the wires as shown in the picture. You do not wrap them around the screws. That is okay, maybe even better then wrapping around the screw.
 
  #12  
Old 06-10-15, 07:18 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Louisville KY
Posts: 571
Further explanation. If you loosen the screws those wires should become loose and you should be able to pull them out. You slide the new wire into the same hole and tighten the screws to secure it.
 
  #13  
Old 06-10-15, 08:06 PM
sgull's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: AK
Posts: 2,601
Okay, thanks you guys for those those last three posts, very helpful.
 
  #14  
Old 06-11-15, 02:41 PM
sgull's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: AK
Posts: 2,601
Glad to report here that it all worked out well. Using the red wire while it was in the conduit already to pull through a new white wire was a great suggestion I probably wouldn't have thought of, but made running that wire easy.

Note the receptacle will need to have a green ground wire connected to the receptacle box.
Did that too^. I even have one of those ground fault receptacle testers you plug into the receptacle with the red/green/yellow indicator lights and it indicated all okay.
 
  #15  
Old 06-11-15, 03:04 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,052
Good job. Thanks for letting us know.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes