Can over-size wire?


  #1  
Old 06-13-15, 08:55 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 968
Received 9 Upvotes on 9 Posts
Can over-size wire?

I am going to install a new bath exhaust fan. I will be taking off from an existing receptacle on a 15A circuit. I have a bunch of 12/2 wire that I would like to use. Is that to code (the wire would be oversized) or do I need to buy some 14/2?
 
  #2  
Old 06-13-15, 09:21 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 9,870
Received 185 Upvotes on 166 Posts
Yes, you can use 12-2 NM-B cable on a 15 amp circuit.
 
  #3  
Old 06-13-15, 12:02 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 968
Received 9 Upvotes on 9 Posts
Thanks for the response!

I suspected I could, but wanted to be sure. If I were building a new home, every receptacle would be 20A.
 
  #4  
Old 06-13-15, 01:16 PM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 19,281
Received 6 Upvotes on 6 Posts
Unless I'm mistaken, it's the other way around where you can have problems. Tapping off a 14Ga supply with 12 is bad. I'll be corrected if I'm wrong.
 
  #5  
Old 06-13-15, 01:18 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
every receptacle would be 20A
By USA code (Canada varies) the receptacles can be rated at 15 amps on a 20 amp circuit so long as there are two or more places to plug in. A single duplex receptacle meets that requirement.The 15 amp receptacles are rated 20 amp pass through.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: