Running outdoor wiring to deck


  #1  
Old 06-14-15, 09:23 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: US
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Running outdoor wiring to deck

Hey everyone. I live n Iowa and just built a new deck that I would like to run a couple outlets to.

I have basic knowledge of wiring. I have done a few outlets and switches adding the breakers to the main box. I feel confident I can do this on my own, just wanting some opinions on what I should use.

I have a shed close by the deck that is already wired, but I plan on getting rid of the shed. I want to use the service from it and move it to my deck. The wiring comes through the exterior siding like this and goes straight underground to the shed that's about 10 feet from there. My deck is about 5 feet to the left of this.



My city code goes by the NEC so I want to make sure everything is done right.

It will not be going underground but everything should still be watertight. I may be able to dig up enough of the flexable metal conduit going to the shed to make a run to the deck, or should I just replace the conduit coming out the wall with a rigid conduit fitting and some type of flexable conduit to the deck? From there I'm guessing I would just run another flexable conduit on to the only other outlet I need.

Am I on the right track, or is there a better way of doing this?

THX. Jerry
 
  #2  
Old 06-14-15, 09:53 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
The wiring to your shed appears to be a code violation. Most FMC is not rated for wet locations.
 
  #3  
Old 06-14-15, 10:26 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: US
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
This wiring was put in before I bought the house 13 years ago. I didn't figure it was up to code, but want to make sure the deck wiring is up to code.
 
  #4  
Old 06-14-15, 11:07 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,100
Received 3,982 Upvotes on 3,574 Posts
That wire has been in use for over thirteen years ? Really amazing the steel shell is still intact.
 
  #5  
Old 06-15-15, 05:05 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 13,979
Received 194 Upvotes on 170 Posts
I think the best thing is to remove what is there and start out fresh. PVC conduit is easy to work with.
 
  #6  
Old 06-16-15, 10:48 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: US
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I will definitely remove the old conduit and start fresh. Looing at it before it goes out the wall, it looks like it is Romex type wire. That will have to be changed to THHN I assume?

I don't know if flexable watertight conduit or ridged pvc conduit is used most of the time in outdoor deck situations, but the flexable stuff looks like it would be a whole lot easier to install. Is a combination of ridged for the longer straight runs and flexable for turns and short runs a common way of doing it?
 
  #7  
Old 06-19-15, 10:28 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: US
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
That's how I'm going to do it.
 
  #8  
Old 06-20-15, 06:50 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
Normally just schedule 40 PVC conduit with individual conductors or UF cable sleeved with PVC for protection where needed is used. Weatherproof flex conduit is more expensive and normally not used.
 
  #9  
Old 06-20-15, 07:35 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 14,338
Received 878 Upvotes on 741 Posts
Most FMC is not rated for wet locations.
FMC was allowed outdoors up until about the 2005 code cycle.
 
  #10  
Old 06-20-15, 09:38 AM
A
Member
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,499
Received 92 Upvotes on 84 Posts
The old cable looks more like AC which wasn't allowed in wet/damp locations even in 1999
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: