Wiring an outdoor dog house

Old 06-15-15, 10:08 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wiring an outdoor dog house

Hey guys new member here first get started with a little intro. My name is Ridge me and my fiance have just purchased our first home in April. I am 22 years old and have in my opinion have much more experience in most things than the average 22 year old. I have provided for myself since i turned 16, currently I am a Construction Estimator/Project manager for an oil and gas pipeline/facility construction company. I have worked as a land surveyor, draftsman, construction superintendent, safety man, etc.. I have always found doing things myself to be a great pleasure in life and would like to continue to increase my knowledge with our new home. So now that that is out of the way lets move on to the project at hand. I am planning to run electricity to power an air conditioning unit in a dog house in our back yard (roughly 50' away). I have worked with indoor wiring before but never outdoor or wiring off of a breaker box/meter; only existing wiring. My plan is to run off the meter to a new breaker box (instead of trying to run through the brick to get to the existing breaker), I would most likely also use this breaker box for a sprinkler system. Is this a feasible way of doing things or is there a better alternative? Being in construction i have seen and been around underground conduit so i would be using rigid conduit with 3 90 degree bends which still leaves me with 90 degrees of the total allowed. What other issues do I need to be worrying about? The air conditioning unit will plug in to a gfci plug from what I know i will also need a switch before the plug and of course the proper one call notification and permits. Any insight to ensure this project goes smoothly would be great. Thank you in advance for the help and I look forward to getting to know all you guys!

P.S.