30 amp breaker question

Old 06-17-15, 11:36 AM
R
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
30 amp breaker question

Thanks for adding me to the forum, this is the first time posting here for me. I am a self employed contractor (retired), and now getting into building Deck Furniture. We just bought a new place and I am working on setting up my wood shop in the existing garage. There are two breakers running to the garage from the main panel box at the house, one 15 amp & one 30 amp. I have done some electrical work in the past (new stuff mostly and terrible at troubleshooting). I have to re-route all the wiring in the garage to fit my needs, and the 30 amp wire was just hanging there (used previously for a rather large air compressor), and my question is: can I hook this up to normal household receptacles, or do I need to install a small junction box and put in a couple 15 amp breakers then go from there with 12/2? I am using only normal everyday power tools (like a compound miter-saw; 20 gallon air compressor; table-saw; planer; etc).

Sponsored Links
Old 06-17-15, 11:48 AM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 43 Votes on 41 Posts
Generally only one feed is allowed per outbuilding, but in some cases multiples are allowed. It sounds like the existing set up for an air compressor was ok because it's a different voltage.

Can you dig a little further and check out how many wires, what size and what color are on the 30A breaker? How do they get to the garage (overhead, underground, conduit)?

Old 06-17-15, 01:38 PM
R
Okay, I should have looked at the panel box again before posting.

What I have in the panel box is one double breaker (connected by a bar) that shows 30 on each side, and upon opening it up there is a 10/2 wire fastened into it. The neutral attached to one side & the Black attached to the other.