40 AMP hot tub install


  #1  
Old 06-18-15, 03:15 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Calgary, Canada
Posts: 475
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
40 AMP hot tub install

Installing an older 40 amp hot tub at my house. I have the 40 amp GFCI breaker already. This tub does not use the neutral wire, just red/black/ground.

I haven't bought the wire yet but would like some room for upgrades later if not too expensive. So thinking still getting 3 conductors and maybe 6 AWG instead of 8??

My run will be 25 feet through a basement unfinished ceiling, then into an existing (and empty) PVC conduit for 20 feet (still inside), then outside under a deck for another 10 feet.

I can extend conduit outside under deck to tub or just staple to under deck joist or whatever.

Recommendations please?

Thanks!
 
  #2  
Old 06-18-15, 03:54 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 36,607
Upvotes: 0
Received 9 Upvotes on 8 Posts
You'll still need a disconnect within sight of the hot tub. Definitely run the 4th wire as whatever you replace it with may have electronics that will require a neutral. You can run the 6 if you feel you may upgrade the tub later on. Run THHN in conduit all the way. It looks more professional and you, by code, must protect the wiring.
 
  #3  
Old 06-18-15, 04:24 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 13,970
Received 194 Upvotes on 170 Posts
The ground must be insulated on the exterior portion of the circuit if there is only a disconnect outside. If there is a breaker in the spa panel the ground needs to be insulated the entire run. There are also other conditions that must be met.
 
  #4  
Old 06-18-15, 05:05 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Calgary, Canada
Posts: 475
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Something like this is required?

GE 60-Amp 240-Volt Non-Fuse Metallic AC Disconnect-TFN60RCP - The Home Depot

I read somewhere that the 6 gauge would also be better to offset voltage loss over the run? Not sure if it worth it or not because it is a lot more expensive than the 8.
 
  #5  
Old 06-18-15, 05:31 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 36,607
Upvotes: 0
Received 9 Upvotes on 8 Posts
I wouldn't worry about the length until it approaches 100'. Increase it if you see your future needs may change, but not for voltage drop. And, yes this disconnect is fine.
 
  #6  
Old 06-19-15, 09:46 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Calgary, Canada
Posts: 475
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
NMD90 - using the PVC conduit outside would be good?
 
  #7  
Old 06-19-15, 10:59 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 13,970
Received 194 Upvotes on 170 Posts
Not under the NEC rules. The ground is not insulated nor is it for use outside. I would suspect the CEC is similar.
 
  #8  
Old 06-19-15, 11:21 AM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 9,785
Upvotes: 0
Received 45 Upvotes on 43 Posts
NMD cable is not for outside use. You would need at least NMWU, but I'm pretty sure even that is not allowed for a hot tub due to an uninsulated ground. TECK cable is common for hot tub connections in Canada.
 
  #9  
Old 06-19-15, 11:22 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Calgary, Canada
Posts: 475
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
NMD90 inside then junction box to NMWU outside directly to the tub?
 
  #10  
Old 06-19-15, 11:25 AM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 9,785
Upvotes: 0
Received 45 Upvotes on 43 Posts
No, I don't think NMWU is allowed. TECK if it has an insulated ground is allowed.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: