40 AMP hot tub install

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-18-15, 02:15 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Calgary, Canada
Posts: 384
40 AMP hot tub install

Installing an older 40 amp hot tub at my house. I have the 40 amp GFCI breaker already. This tub does not use the neutral wire, just red/black/ground.

I haven't bought the wire yet but would like some room for upgrades later if not too expensive. So thinking still getting 3 conductors and maybe 6 AWG instead of 8??

My run will be 25 feet through a basement unfinished ceiling, then into an existing (and empty) PVC conduit for 20 feet (still inside), then outside under a deck for another 10 feet.

I can extend conduit outside under deck to tub or just staple to under deck joist or whatever.

Recommendations please?

Thanks!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-18-15, 02:54 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
You'll still need a disconnect within sight of the hot tub. Definitely run the 4th wire as whatever you replace it with may have electronics that will require a neutral. You can run the 6 if you feel you may upgrade the tub later on. Run THHN in conduit all the way. It looks more professional and you, by code, must protect the wiring.
 
  #3  
Old 06-18-15, 03:24 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,361
The ground must be insulated on the exterior portion of the circuit if there is only a disconnect outside. If there is a breaker in the spa panel the ground needs to be insulated the entire run. There are also other conditions that must be met.
 
  #4  
Old 06-18-15, 04:05 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Calgary, Canada
Posts: 384
Something like this is required?

GE 60-Amp 240-Volt Non-Fuse Metallic AC Disconnect-TFN60RCP - The Home Depot

I read somewhere that the 6 gauge would also be better to offset voltage loss over the run? Not sure if it worth it or not because it is a lot more expensive than the 8.
 
  #5  
Old 06-18-15, 04:31 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
I wouldn't worry about the length until it approaches 100'. Increase it if you see your future needs may change, but not for voltage drop. And, yes this disconnect is fine.
 
  #6  
Old 06-19-15, 08:46 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Calgary, Canada
Posts: 384
NMD90 - using the PVC conduit outside would be good?
 
  #7  
Old 06-19-15, 09:59 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,361
Not under the NEC rules. The ground is not insulated nor is it for use outside. I would suspect the CEC is similar.
 
  #8  
Old 06-19-15, 10:21 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,296
NMD cable is not for outside use. You would need at least NMWU, but I'm pretty sure even that is not allowed for a hot tub due to an uninsulated ground. TECK cable is common for hot tub connections in Canada.
 
  #9  
Old 06-19-15, 10:22 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Calgary, Canada
Posts: 384
NMD90 inside then junction box to NMWU outside directly to the tub?
 
  #10  
Old 06-19-15, 10:25 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,296
No, I don't think NMWU is allowed. TECK if it has an insulated ground is allowed.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'