power to main breaker but not condenser disconnect

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-20-15, 12:34 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
power to main breaker but not condenser disconnect

My outdoor condenser is not working. The capacitors, contactor and fuses all tested fine. There is 240 from the main breaker, but not at the disconnect. What could be wrong in between, and how would I go about fixing this?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-20-15, 12:46 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
What are your voltage readings at the disconnect for each hot to ground on the line side?
 
  #3  
Old 06-20-15, 12:49 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for responding! Voltage is at zero on both sides of the disconnect.
 
  #4  
Old 06-20-15, 12:55 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
There is zero voltage for each leg at disconnect, but I'm getting 240 from the main breaker. I don't understand how this could be
 
  #5  
Old 06-20-15, 02:32 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
How are you measuring voltage. It almost sounds like you are using a non contact tester. That won't work. You need to use a multimeter to test each leg to ground.
 
  #6  
Old 06-20-15, 03:17 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Received 5 Votes on 5 Posts
While you do that, check between the breaker location and the disconnect location for any junction boxes in the line. It happens.
 
  #7  
Old 06-20-15, 03:37 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 58,587
Received 1,044 Votes on 968 Posts
You're checking at the "main breaker" ??

You should be checking at a 2P30A or similar breaker.
 
  #8  
Old 06-20-15, 03:41 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Received 5 Votes on 5 Posts
Wow, Pete, that went right over my head. Good catch.
 
  #9  
Old 06-20-15, 06:21 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,144
Received 84 Votes on 72 Posts
You need to check the breaker terminals that feeds te circuit, not the main.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: