One leg of power not working

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-21-15, 10:01 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
One leg of power not working

For about the past year I've been having trouble with my microwave and washing machine, I bought the cheapest microwave because I barely use it and I had bought a used washing machine years ago. So, I just assumed they were both breaking. Until one day I smelled a slight burning smell coming from my circuit box. Nothing was tripped, but I was scared something was going to catch on fire so I cut the power to everything and took it off to look. I didn't see any smoke or any burnt wires. But then immediately after wards my hot water tank also stopped working. So I just figured I blew one of my breakers.

Before I had a chance of fixing it my hot water tank starts working again. But I notice the outlet the microwave was plugged into (which is now unplugged) and one other outlet in my kitchen are barely working. I always use the one for my vacuum. When I plugged the vacuum in it was barely working. Then a few days later my hot water tank stopped working again.

Then I borrowed my father-in-laws volt meter and found out one leg of my power is out. Every other breaker is working. Left leg side works right side does not work.

I live in a mobile home, so I thought then it could be my outside fuses. I went out and looked and they were very burnt. I bought new fuses and replaced them. Also bought a new breaker because I know how to change them. but after all of that still one leg isn't working.

(it's a Sunday so I can't call my power company)

Any advice?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-21-15, 10:07 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
it's a Sunday so I can't call my power company
Did you call the 24 hour emergency number?
 

Last edited by ray2047; 06-21-15 at 10:33 AM.
  #3  
Old 06-21-15, 10:19 AM
A
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 4,069
Received 75 Votes on 69 Posts
Flip off the main breaker or pull the main, here, outside, fuse(s). Then flip a coin.

It's a tossup whether to call an electrician first to see if the problem is in your outside fuse box or to call the power company first to see if the problem is in the lines coming overhead from the utility pole.

Or you may be able to put the power back on and figure out for yourself where the problem is. If you should ever measure a voltage somehat higher than 120 at a receptacle for 120 volt power, or if you see a light that is abnormally bright, you should unplug all electronic devices from that circuit.

Chances are, if something is very burnt then the entire box containing that something needs to be replaced. Most likely a connection worked loose and loose connections heat up when current flows through them.
 
  #4  
Old 06-21-15, 10:22 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I tried it and all I can talk to is a computer
 
  #5  
Old 06-21-15, 10:24 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
It's a tossup whether to call an electrician first to see if the problem is in your outside fuse box or to call the power company first
Disagree. The power company is free, the electrician isn't. If it is on the power company side do you want to pay $100+ to an electrician to make a call you could have made for free?
 
  #6  
Old 06-21-15, 10:26 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I agree, I called the 24 hour number. Basically it was just a computer. No way of talking to an actual person of course. I left the message so hope I at least get a call back.
 
  #7  
Old 06-21-15, 10:33 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,144
Received 84 Votes on 72 Posts
Most panels are arranged ABAB top to bottom, not left and right. Do you by chance have a Bulldog panel?
 
  #8  
Old 06-21-15, 10:37 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The breakers are like that ABAB. But where the wires go into the main switch is where the one side reads 120 and the other is at 0
 
  #9  
Old 06-21-15, 10:40 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Not sure if anyone will know but if I'm renting my land is fixing the outdoor fuse box my responsibility or my landlords? I already had bought the fuses for it.
 
  #10  
Old 06-21-15, 10:56 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,144
Received 84 Votes on 72 Posts
You have lost an incoming leg of power. Whether this is your responsibility or the landlords would depend on the rental agreement. Is anyone else off the same pole as you?
 
  #11  
Old 06-21-15, 11:38 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
The fact you even have fuses makes me wonder about the condition of your electrical. Not so much related to your problem but just for situation assessment can you post pictures of the fuse box and breaker box. http://www.doityourself.com/forum/li...rt-images.html
 
  #12  
Old 06-21-15, 11:51 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,144
Received 84 Votes on 72 Posts
Might be a terminology issue here also. I am seeing both fuses and breakers in the problem description.
 
  #13  
Old 06-21-15, 06:15 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,639
Received 85 Votes on 75 Posts
I thought then it could be my outside fuses. I went out and looked and they were very burnt.
How burnt were they? They shouldn't be burnt at all.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: