Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

Circuit Breaker won't reset after smoke detector replaced?

Circuit Breaker won't reset after smoke detector replaced?


  #1  
Old 06-21-15, 01:33 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: New England
Posts: 247
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Circuit Breaker won't reset after smoke detector replaced?

Hi,
I was on recently for my burst hot water heater (not a good week!) Well- that caused my hallway smoke detector to go off... which somehow tripped the breaker for my bedroom. The repairman was great and when he came, he replaced the hallway one with just a battery (but I'm starting to think cuz it's hardwired it maybe needs total replacement?) Anyway- shortly after- the bedroom one went off and so he replaced that one too (a different brand which didn't have a battery) I was well prepared with like 5 different types of detectors for him to choose from! Anyway- when he left ALL WAS GOOD. He reset the circuit breaker- I had power in the bedroom and both detectors were working.
About ?2hrs later- lights OUT in the bedroom (no alarms went off) the detector in the hallway WAS blinking green now neither one is - I went back and did the FIRM turning off/on of the breaker but it's not snapping into place it's just staying in the middle. I unplugged many things in there to decrease the load but still no luck.
I didn't reset ALL the breakers? Should I? There are no GFCI outlets- it's an older small house. (other rooms have a couple of those outlets- bathroom/kitchen) Is it time I call an electrician? I've been without light in there >1week and out of ideas- now I have no smoke protection except my dog... tx!!
 
  #2  
Old 06-21-15, 01:48 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 13,970
Received 194 Upvotes on 170 Posts
If the breaker trips immediately after resetting it you have a short or the breaker is too hot to reset on overload.

Now for the other issue, the smokes all need to be compatible. He also should not have replaced a hardwired alarm with a battery only unit.
 
  #3  
Old 06-21-15, 02:26 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: New England
Posts: 247
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
yikes

well- now it won't reset AT ALL- but that IS what happened... I just don't know why no new fixtures (except replaced detector) and thanks for the info re: the detector (that was what was THERE from before!!) it's hardwired but has a battery detector on the ceiling (?) I don't know- it's quite different than what's in the BR. (I had a horrible contractor) but it passed inspection somehow when I bought the house 10yrs ago. So, sounds like I should get a professional, huh?
Oh, and I'm so broke!
 
  #4  
Old 06-21-15, 04:32 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 13,970
Received 194 Upvotes on 170 Posts
Smoke alarms have a 10 year lifespan so they are due to be replaced anyway.

A splice may have been disturbed while working on the smoke alarm.
 
  #5  
Old 06-21-15, 07:33 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 9,870
Received 185 Upvotes on 166 Posts
I was on recently for my burst hot water heater (not a good week!) Well- that caused my hallway smoke detector to go off... which somehow tripped the breaker for my bedroom.
First of all, thank you for not saying a "Busted" water heater!

Now, how did the water heater cause the smoke detector to go off? I agree with PCboss, replace all the hardwired detectors with new ones that have battery backup and replace those batteries once a year. Are the detectors wired from the bedroom circuit?
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: