Old fuse box at home

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-22-15, 07:14 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Old fuse box at home

I have an old fuse box with 6 20aml fuses. I will upload a picture. The fuse on the top left blows when screwed in. I noticed the disk behind the fuse is messed up compared to the fuse to the right of it that looks like it is fairly new. If i replace that disk will it fix my problem? Thanks,
Nick

Name:  image.jpg
Views: 11096
Size:  28.5 KB
 

Last edited by ray2047; 06-22-15 at 07:36 PM. Reason: Rotate and insert image.
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-22-15, 07:32 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Old fuse boxes like that aren't repairable. You need to replace it with a breaker box. Is that your only electrical panel?
 
  #3  
Old 06-22-15, 07:36 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 58,501
Received 1,029 Votes on 955 Posts
There doesn't appear to be a circuit even connected to that fuse.
There are no circuits connected to the spots with the red x's.

Name:  fuse.jpg
Views: 1237
Size:  26.4 KB
 
  #4  
Old 06-22-15, 07:39 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
We have 2 other breaker panels, this one is just powering the upstairs
 
  #5  
Old 06-22-15, 07:42 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I disconnected the circuit once the fuse was blown to check it for a short
 
  #6  
Old 06-22-15, 07:55 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 58,501
Received 1,029 Votes on 955 Posts
Ok.... so if you aren't in a position to replace that fuse panel right now..... move the circuit down to the next fuse position.
 
  #7  
Old 06-22-15, 10:10 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 4,788
Received 75 Votes on 70 Posts
What's this box for?
Garage, whole house?
What's that fuse used for?
First thing I think when I see a box like that is it should have been changed at least 20 years ago.
 
  #8  
Old 06-23-15, 05:41 AM
T
Member
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,610
Received 40 Votes on 39 Posts
If what you say is true, then there is a fault from the fused, hot side of top left to ground or neutral below the fuseholder. Is this fusebox grounded? It appears there is no ground wire visible.
No pro will recommend you continue to use this fusebox. It is problematic even to abandon the top left fuseholder, as you would have to fashion some sort of inert, dummy fuse to cover the defective fuse position.
 
  #9  
Old 06-23-15, 04:47 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,638
Received 83 Votes on 73 Posts
There are several issues with that old fuse box including that it is only fed with 30 amps. It should be replaced with a new modern circuit breaker panel with a new feeder as soon as practical.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: