Old fuse box at home


  #1  
Old 06-22-15, 08:14 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Old fuse box at home

I have an old fuse box with 6 20aml fuses. I will upload a picture. The fuse on the top left blows when screwed in. I noticed the disk behind the fuse is messed up compared to the fuse to the right of it that looks like it is fairly new. If i replace that disk will it fix my problem? Thanks,
Nick

Name:  image.jpg
Views: 16692
Size:  28.5 KB
 

Last edited by ray2047; 06-22-15 at 08:36 PM. Reason: Rotate and insert image.
  #2  
Old 06-22-15, 08:32 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
Old fuse boxes like that aren't repairable. You need to replace it with a breaker box. Is that your only electrical panel?
 
  #3  
Old 06-22-15, 08:36 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 64,593
Received 3,881 Upvotes on 3,478 Posts
There doesn't appear to be a circuit even connected to that fuse.
There are no circuits connected to the spots with the red x's.

Name:  fuse.jpg
Views: 3161
Size:  26.4 KB
 
  #4  
Old 06-22-15, 08:39 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
We have 2 other breaker panels, this one is just powering the upstairs
 
  #5  
Old 06-22-15, 08:42 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I disconnected the circuit once the fuse was blown to check it for a short
 
  #6  
Old 06-22-15, 08:55 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 64,593
Received 3,881 Upvotes on 3,478 Posts
Ok.... so if you aren't in a position to replace that fuse panel right now..... move the circuit down to the next fuse position.
 
  #7  
Old 06-22-15, 11:10 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 4,463
Received 128 Upvotes on 113 Posts
What's this box for?
Garage, whole house?
What's that fuse used for?
First thing I think when I see a box like that is it should have been changed at least 20 years ago.
 
  #8  
Old 06-23-15, 06:41 AM
T
Member
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,569
Received 74 Upvotes on 69 Posts
If what you say is true, then there is a fault from the fused, hot side of top left to ground or neutral below the fuseholder. Is this fusebox grounded? It appears there is no ground wire visible.
No pro will recommend you continue to use this fusebox. It is problematic even to abandon the top left fuseholder, as you would have to fashion some sort of inert, dummy fuse to cover the defective fuse position.
 
  #9  
Old 06-23-15, 05:47 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 9,870
Received 185 Upvotes on 166 Posts
There are several issues with that old fuse box including that it is only fed with 30 amps. It should be replaced with a new modern circuit breaker panel with a new feeder as soon as practical.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: