Using Transformer For Fan

Old 06-22-15, 02:07 PM
Using Transformer For Fan

I purchased an Acme Electric TB81210 step down transform 220/440 to 120v. (http://www.acmetransformer.com/~/med...3375-22117.pdf )
I do not fully follow how to wire this in; data sheets do not give me a full enough understanding.
Clearly I'm not an electrician, but with a touch of knowledge, I'm competent to hook this up.

Here's what I'm doing:

I have a 240v AC air-handler installed (that runs a large blower motor).
I did meter test the wires to the blower and do understand what the "hot" / neutral connections are.
It's wired with a single feed, 14ga, black, white, bare wire, 600v rated.

I purchased an "inline" fan unit to increase air flow to a specific output duct on the duct system; this fan is 120v.

The goal is to "power on" the inline fan when the main blower powers on. Doing so by tapping the power at the point the blower is powered on; connecting to the transformer; then out to a typical 120v receptacle to accommodate the inline fan.

The transformer is laid out as follows:

Input Terminals: H1 H3 H2 H4
Output Terminals: X2 F1 F2 X1

I gather, for my 220v input, I must use the included terminal jumpers, H1 to H3 and H2 to H4.
I gather the 120v output wires will be attached to X2 and X1.

What I do not follow/fully understand, is what two wires attach to the input as diagrams show?
Is one the "hot" (black) and and the other the neutral(white)? ...if so, does it matter which wire goes to which input?
...or is wired with just the single black wire input (as that's all I have in my case) and the neutral(white)'s are simply wire-nutted outside the transformer?

Same question on the output side....

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Sponsored Links
Old 06-22-15, 03:05 PM
Group Moderator
do understand what the "hot" / neutral connections are.