Ac 230v motor 5 wire problems

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-25-15, 01:27 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 1
Ac 230v motor 5 wire problems

Members location is UK.

Hi guys , new to the forum I have been given a motor by a friend to see if I can get it working for him , its from a compressor , not sure of the make of the compressor but the motor has a stamped panel on the side which shows all the details , they are as follows
230v , ac , 2.2kw , 2850rpm, 50hz , 1 phase, 15.5amp, frame number: ped90ln. J067462 , class f , ip54 , 9658
I'm a competent electrician but haven't a clue on motors , its come to me with all the wires removed from the top block ,it has 2 capacitors bolted to the side , the wire colors are red blue black orange yellow , I can take a picture of the top block if needed

Any help would be very much appreciated , thanks in advance
Lee
 

Last edited by ray2047; 06-25-15 at 02:46 PM.
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-26-15, 12:14 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,179
A picture and any other information would be a help.
 
  #3  
Old 06-26-15, 07:16 PM
Mr.Awesome's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Canada, SK
Posts: 576
Take this information with a grain of salt as motors are not something I'm well versed in...

I THINK your blue is your neutral as per standard in the UK.
And I THINK your yellow and orange are your run winding.
And I THINK your red and black are your start winding.
Grab a meter and ohm out your yellow and orange, and red and black for starters.
 
  #4  
Old 06-26-15, 09:03 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,179
I don't disagree but I don't agree either.

If you have two sets of windings you wouldn't have a 5th wire as a neutral.
The OP mentioned a connection plate. That could be the back of a centrifugal switch.

Checking the windings are a start but a start switch is most likely involved in this scenario.
 
  #5  
Old 06-28-15, 12:29 PM
Mr.Awesome's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Canada, SK
Posts: 576
You're right PJ. You would just have a lead from each winding connected to your feed neutral correct?
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes