Ac 230v motor 5 wire problems


  #1  
Old 06-25-15, 01:27 PM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 1
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Ac 230v motor 5 wire problems

Members location is UK.

Hi guys , new to the forum I have been given a motor by a friend to see if I can get it working for him , its from a compressor , not sure of the make of the compressor but the motor has a stamped panel on the side which shows all the details , they are as follows
230v , ac , 2.2kw , 2850rpm, 50hz , 1 phase, 15.5amp, frame number: ped90ln. J067462 , class f , ip54 , 9658
I'm a competent electrician but haven't a clue on motors , its come to me with all the wires removed from the top block ,it has 2 capacitors bolted to the side , the wire colors are red blue black orange yellow , I can take a picture of the top block if needed

Any help would be very much appreciated , thanks in advance
Lee
 

Last edited by ray2047; 06-25-15 at 02:46 PM.
  #2  
Old 06-26-15, 12:14 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 64,639
Received 3,892 Upvotes on 3,489 Posts
A picture and any other information would be a help.
 
  #3  
Old 06-26-15, 07:16 PM
Mr.Awesome's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 511
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Take this information with a grain of salt as motors are not something I'm well versed in...

I THINK your blue is your neutral as per standard in the UK.
And I THINK your yellow and orange are your run winding.
And I THINK your red and black are your start winding.
Grab a meter and ohm out your yellow and orange, and red and black for starters.
 
  #4  
Old 06-26-15, 09:03 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 64,639
Received 3,892 Upvotes on 3,489 Posts
I don't disagree but I don't agree either.

If you have two sets of windings you wouldn't have a 5th wire as a neutral.
The OP mentioned a connection plate. That could be the back of a centrifugal switch.

Checking the windings are a start but a start switch is most likely involved in this scenario.
 
  #5  
Old 06-28-15, 12:29 PM
Mr.Awesome's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 511
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
You're right PJ. You would just have a lead from each winding connected to your feed neutral correct?
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: