Dishwasher electrical hookup

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-28-15, 10:58 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Dishwasher electrical hookup

Hi everyone i just got a new dishwasher and noticed that with the electrical connection on the new one i've got three wires green, white and black the issue i'm unsure of is with my old dishwasher there was a gray wire along with the white and green. I get the basic concept of the wiring i'm just trying to see if the direct wire coming from the wall is ok to use. It has the bare copper wire, white wire and a gray wire. That's where i've been thrown off as i'm not sure if they gray wire can be connected to the black on the new dishwasher. I'd rather be 100% certain before messing around with anything electrical. I do have pictures each group of wires i seem to be unable to upload them. Thanks for any guidance provided.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-28-15, 11:01 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
View image: 20150628 123941 --- Image of the dishwasher connection

View image: 20150628 123952 ---- Image of the wall connection
 
  #3  
Old 06-28-15, 11:11 AM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 7,914
Received 121 Votes on 111 Posts
That gray wire is your hot wire. But you can test it with VOM meter. That particular brand of wire used gray instead of black.

May I suggest that you might want to install an outlet instead of hard wireing it.
 
  #4  
Old 06-28-15, 12:33 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Norm, gray is reserved for neutral in the NEC. I'm not saying you are wrong but what kind of cable is that?
 
  #5  
Old 06-28-15, 12:44 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The wire comes from the wall. There is an existing outlet there. I'm not sure if it is connected from the outlet or it's own wire but it does appear that it is connected to the outlet. The previous dishwasher was hooked up to it and did have a gray wire that was connected. I just didn't want to make an incorrect decision in assuming the gray wire should go to the black on the new dishwasher. I would actually consider hooking it up directly into the outlet. Are there specs i should be looking for in purchasing a three prong wire?
 
  #6  
Old 06-28-15, 12:50 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ray that is what i saw when looking up the gray wire which is what threw me off. I had also read that the white is neutral as well. In regards to the type of cable i'm not quite sure what you mean.
 
  #7  
Old 06-28-15, 12:59 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,001
Received 40 Votes on 35 Posts
The cord for the dishwasher should be a listed kit. The manufacturer should have a part number for it.
 
  #8  
Old 06-28-15, 01:52 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
In regards to the type of cable i'm not quite sure what you mean.
I'm not sure if it is a type of cable approved for running inside walls. I'd expect it to be NM (AKA Romex) cable. Is there any writing on it?
There is an existing outlet there. I'm not sure if it is connected from the outlet
Which could mean it is a left over cord from another dish washer and sure be removed.

My advice would be to buy a cord set so you can plug in your dishwasher and remove the unknown cord/cable completely.
 
  #9  
Old 06-28-15, 02:50 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes the cord coming from the wall was used with the previous dishwasher. So i took apart the outlet and saw that the wire that was going to the previous dishwasher was run from the outlet. Would it be worthwhile to remove that wire and just utilize a three prong plug to the outlet?
 
  #10  
Old 06-28-15, 03:09 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Would it be worthwhile to remove that wire and just utilize a three prong plug to the outlet?
That was probably what it was before someone mangled it instead of doing the job correctly. It would be better to use a new cord set.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: