240V Question

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-03-15, 01:00 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: usa
Posts: 16
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
240V Question

If the two lines to the main circuit breaker each show 120 volts when grounded, why would they not have 240 volts when tested across the two lines?

Longer version is: no water from well. 120 on both hot wires to pump, but no 240 across. Same at pressure switch and circuit breaker.

Problem started two days ago. When I checked the lines feeding the main circuit breaker one leg was dead. Called ComEd, they came out, said there was a fault in the underground line, and put in a temp box next to the pole. Said they would be back in 4-6 weeks to put in a new line.

Now I have 120v on each leg coming in, but no 240v across. Same for all the 240v breakers in the box. None of them are supplying 240.

ComEd problem or bad main circuit breaker?
Thanks for any help; seems none of the local electricians are working today.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-03-15, 02:01 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Not sure what a temp box is. If it isn't a meter socket please post pictures including pictures with the cover removed so we can see the wiring. http://www.doityourself.com/forum/li...rt-images.html
 
  #3  
Old 07-03-15, 02:09 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,227
Received 478 Votes on 448 Posts
You must measure 240vac across the two legs.

You're seeing 120v on both legs (the same 120v) because it's going to the pump on the working leg and coming back on the dead leg.
 
  #4  
Old 07-03-15, 03:43 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: usa
Posts: 16
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks. I am getting 120 on each leg with the wires disconnected from the pump.
All seven 240v breakers have 120 at each of the two wires, but no 240 when tested across.
 
  #5  
Old 07-03-15, 03:48 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 13,022
Received 68 Votes on 60 Posts
Turn off all your two pole breakers and see if you have 120 volts to ground on the lines coming into the building. You likely have dropped one leg of your 240 volts
 
  #6  
Old 07-03-15, 07:43 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 10,237
Received 39 Votes on 31 Posts
Called ComEd, they came out, said there was a fault in the underground line, and put in a temp box next to the pole. Said they would be back in 4-6 weeks to put in a new line.
Call them back. They gave you power on the dead leg, but they took it from the remaining live leg. What they did will give you lights and receptacle power on the other leg of your panel, but it won't give you 240 volts to anything. Call them back and tell them that isn't acceptable. Call their emergency 24/7 number.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: