Combination Fan Light Switch:

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-04-15, 12:10 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Combination Fan Light Switch:

I am trying to replace a combination fan/light in the bedroom. Having issues with the wiring as power is going to the fan/light but the switches do not function whatsoever. Plus, the guy at the store said the old switch is out of code.

On the old switch, there were 3 screws on the right: red on top, ground in the middle and black on the bottom. On the right side, there were 2 screws, no wires on the top screw and black on the bottom.

The new switch is configured differently. On the right side there are 3 screws: top: black, middle: black, bottom ground. On the left side there are 2 screws where, I assume the red attaches.

I placed the red on each of the left screws and nothing happens, the unit works but the switch does absolutely nothing. Basically, I have to manual pull each if the chains on the fixture to turn it on and off.

Appreciate any help.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-04-15, 12:36 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
Welcome to the forums! Could you post pictures of both sides of each switch? Pictures of the wiring at the switch box as well as the ceiling box would help, too. http://www.doityourself.com/forum/el...your-post.html
 
  #3  
Old 07-04-15, 01:57 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,430
A link to your new new switch or picture would be helpful.

You have three wires. You HAD a red and black on one side of the old switch. Those are the lines to the fan. The single black wire WAS your feed to the switch.

One side of your new switch should have two screws tied together. That's the set of screw terminals where the single black wire goes on. The other red an d black go on the load or switched output side of the switch.
 
  #4  
Old 07-05-15, 03:47 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,212
the guy at the store said the old switch is out of code.
That's a big red flag for me. How would a guy at the store know if your switch meets code or not? It may be an old switch, but I can't think of anything in the code that prohibits using an old switch.
 
  #5  
Old 07-05-15, 04:32 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,631
Is what you have just an ordinary duplex switch? They are certainly code compliant.

Name:  images.jpeg
Views: 33
Size:  4.7 KB
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'