need help wiring bathroom light fixture


  #1  
Old 07-04-15, 11:48 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 27
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
need help wiring bathroom light fixture

Just moved in a old house that had old steel medicine cabinet,, i took out old cabinet and coming from wall theres just 2 wires a black and a white n they are connected to the junction box, the light fixture i put has 3 lights and has 3 black, 3 white wires,,and on fixture bracket there's a wire on a green screw,, so i connected 3 white wires from fixture to the white coming from wall and 3 black wires from fixture to black coming from wall, i turned on breaker and junction box is on off position and lights are on and stay on , they wont turn off either way i flick switch on or off ,,light is constantly on,, what am i doin wrong ,,
 
  #2  
Old 07-05-15, 12:29 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
What is the wiring at the switch?
 
  #3  
Old 07-05-15, 05:40 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5,056
Received 159 Upvotes on 145 Posts
Did it work before you replaced the fixture?
Geo
 
  #4  
Old 07-05-15, 07:51 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 27
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Yea it did work ,, n wiring at the switch is just 2 wires 1black and 1 white,. But now i just found 2 wires tucked away didnt see befor 1 black and 1 white but those have no power to them,, so im assuming those two come from switch. So now i have 4 wires coming out of wall 2 black and 2 white
 
  #5  
Old 07-05-15, 11:28 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 13,967
Received 192 Upvotes on 168 Posts
You are going to need to identify the cable going to the switch . Once that is done you will wire the white to the hot black bundle . The fixture will connect to the black from that cable. The fixture white will splice to the other whites.

The hot white should be marked as a hot at both ends. Search "switch loop".
 
  #6  
Old 07-05-15, 11:56 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
Name:  Sw_Loopb-1_zps69e9ba8b.jpg
Views: 2001
Size:  19.5 KB .
 
  #7  
Old 07-05-15, 12:41 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 27
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Ok thanks i let u know how it went,, and other thing i forgot to mention this house has fuses instead of breakers like newer houses have
 
  #8  
Old 07-05-15, 01:35 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
Just remove the fuse before working on the circuit.
 
  #9  
Old 07-07-15, 05:43 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 27
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Done thanks allot for help ray,, got it rite my wife is happy
 
  #10  
Old 07-07-15, 07:36 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
Good work. Thanks for letting us know.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: