need help wiring bathroom light fixture

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-04-15, 11:48 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 27
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
need help wiring bathroom light fixture

Just moved in a old house that had old steel medicine cabinet,, i took out old cabinet and coming from wall theres just 2 wires a black and a white n they are connected to the junction box, the light fixture i put has 3 lights and has 3 black, 3 white wires,,and on fixture bracket there's a wire on a green screw,, so i connected 3 white wires from fixture to the white coming from wall and 3 black wires from fixture to black coming from wall, i turned on breaker and junction box is on off position and lights are on and stay on , they wont turn off either way i flick switch on or off ,,light is constantly on,, what am i doin wrong ,,
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-05-15, 12:29 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
What is the wiring at the switch?
 
  #3  
Old 07-05-15, 05:40 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 4,025
Received 18 Votes on 18 Posts
Did it work before you replaced the fixture?
Geo
 
  #4  
Old 07-05-15, 07:51 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 27
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yea it did work ,, n wiring at the switch is just 2 wires 1black and 1 white,. But now i just found 2 wires tucked away didnt see befor 1 black and 1 white but those have no power to them,, so im assuming those two come from switch. So now i have 4 wires coming out of wall 2 black and 2 white
 
  #5  
Old 07-05-15, 11:28 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,943
Received 30 Votes on 26 Posts
You are going to need to identify the cable going to the switch . Once that is done you will wire the white to the hot black bundle . The fixture will connect to the black from that cable. The fixture white will splice to the other whites.

The hot white should be marked as a hot at both ends. Search "switch loop".
 
  #6  
Old 07-05-15, 11:56 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Name:  Sw_Loopb-1_zps69e9ba8b.jpg
Views: 1165
Size:  19.5 KB .
 
  #7  
Old 07-05-15, 12:41 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 27
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ok thanks i let u know how it went,, and other thing i forgot to mention this house has fuses instead of breakers like newer houses have
 
  #8  
Old 07-05-15, 01:35 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Just remove the fuse before working on the circuit.
 
  #9  
Old 07-07-15, 05:43 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 27
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Done thanks allot for help ray,, got it rite my wife is happy
 
  #10  
Old 07-07-15, 07:36 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Good work. Thanks for letting us know.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: