What type of pipe to use to use to run underground wire?

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-06-15, 04:57 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: usa
Posts: 141
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
What type of pipe to use to use to run underground wire?

I have a trench that was dug for other electrical work. Before I fill out back in, and since its 3/4 of the way to the shed, I was thinking it would be a good time to put style pipe, so that when I can affOrd it, it would be easier. ( and less digging and less distruction of the lawn) to fish some wire through it. ( I will not be doing it myself). I live in mass and the trench is> 18 in deep.
What t type of pipe/size (for dummies).
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-06-15, 07:45 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,941
Received 30 Votes on 26 Posts
Your question is rather vague . What are you planning to power and how far away is it from the house.
 
  #3  
Old 07-06-15, 08:08 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: usa
Posts: 141
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Good call.

2. 8 x 10 sheds one for mostly pool stuff and one for lawn stuff. Overhead lamp in both. Outlet in each, the very most I could see the outlet used for would b for a miter saw ( and this would b seldom). Basically a couple of convenience outlEts.
 
  #4  
Old 07-06-15, 08:11 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
. 8 x 10 sheds one for mostly pool stuff and
Will the pool be powered from the shed?
 
  #5  
Old 07-06-15, 10:37 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,489
Received 32 Votes on 24 Posts
You don't use "pipe" for wiring, you use conduit. Admittedly, some electricians refer to conduit as "pipe" but that is an incorrect term. Electrical conduit is manufactured with different specifications regarding finish than is water pipe and these specifications are important to allow for easier pulling of the wires as well as prevention of abrading the insulation of the wires.

Never use EMT, electrical metallic tubing (also known as thinwall conduit) underground as it will rust out in a few years. Intermediate (IMC) or rigid (RMC) steel or aluminum conduit is okay, especially where it enters/leaves the ground and is often used where subject to damage. The most common underground conduit is PVC plastic, also known as non-metallic conduit.

Metallic conduit assembles with couplers and threaded joints. The threads are the same size as standard pipe threads but without the taper. No pipe joint compound or Teflon tape is used. Plastic conduit assembles with a solvent cement but unlike water pipe no PVC cleaner is necessary. All conduit work must be completed before pulling the wires. There can be no more than an equivalent of four 90[SUP]o[/SUP] bends between permanently accessible "pulling points" in a complete conduit run.

Minimum depth for anything other than rigid steel conduit is 18 inches of cover over the top of the conduit. Some specific areas require a minimum of 24 inches as I recall. That means the trench must be deeper than 18 inches. There are some specific installations that will allow the use of steel rigid with only 6 inches of cover but I don't remember the details. Any conduit may be less than 18 inches IF it is encased in a minimum of 2 inches of concrete.

Do not run any low-voltage or communication cable in the same conduit as power wiring. Remember that underground conduit is considered to be a wet environment so do not even think about using type NM cable in conduit. Use only individual wires with the W designation such as THWN.
 
  #6  
Old 07-07-15, 01:38 AM
KULTULZ's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 28
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Do not run any low-voltage or communication cable in the same conduit as power wiring.
Can two conduits, one power the other phone/cable, be run in the same trench?
 
  #7  
Old 07-07-15, 07:45 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Can two conduits, one power the other phone/cable, be run in the same trench?
Yes. .
 
  #8  
Old 07-07-15, 10:11 AM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,489
Received 32 Votes on 24 Posts
Can two conduits, one power the other phone/cable, be run in the same trench?
As Ray stated, the answer is yes. Ideally the two conduits would be separated about 12 inches, either horizontally or vertically from each other but that suggestion is often ignored in the real world.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: