Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

Setting up a 400 amp panel/meter for shop & RV parking/use.

Old 07-07-15, 02:43 PM

Hello DIY forums! Thanks in advance for having a place like this where regular folks can come for advice and help.

I have very little experience working with power, beyond running a few new outlets and adding a breaker or two to existing sub-panels... so please bear with me. You can't "dumb-it-down" enough for someone as ignorant as myself.

Purpose: Trying to setup an RV spot for my Dad to park his travel trailer/home on our property. He's 76 yrs. young now and as he gets older, I've finally gotten him to agree to moving out here so I can help him out and keep an eye on him as his health, slowly starts to fade. One of the things I had to do to get Dad to agree to moving out here was to supply his own power meter, so he can pay his own power bill.

Always keeping future needs in mind... I figured I'd install a 400 amp service panel, instead of a 200. Reasoning is that I'd love to eventually install a shop out next to the area we're parking his trailer. I figure it's better to get setup for it initially, rather than pay for changes and waste money, after the fact.
Even if I never am able to afford the dream shop... I figure it's a good potential addition to have setup to help increase the property value anyway. Yes... I'm one of those "over-kill" types who'd rather have it and not need it, than need it and not have it... at least, as much as money will allow.

Preparation: I've already worked with the local PUD on expanding the power supply box another 275ft. deeper into the property (underground), down the property egress. Gotten the quote and code requirement paperwork from them and once I get the panel setup and pass inspection, they'll come out and install the extended supply box and connect the power panel at the same time.