Issues with Sheetrocking Around Breakerbox

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-14-15, 08:40 AM
O
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Issues with Sheetrocking Around Breakerbox

Hey guys, not sure how to word this, I am working on adding sheetrock to my washroom but some of the electrical was stapled right onto the wood instead of channeled through the wood. This is the electrical from the breaker box and it looks to be stapled right to the header. Is this a rewiring type of situation or remove the staples, put the sheetrock beneath the electrical and have it exposed? Or even notch it? Any feedback would be appreciated Name:  breaker.jpg
Views: 279
Size:  42.2 KB
 
  #2  
Old 07-14-15, 08:46 AM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,943
Received 44 Votes on 42 Posts
I would leave the wiring exposed, as-is and just edge the sheetrock around it. You'll almost certainly want/need access to the top of the panel in the future anyway. You can paint it to make it blend in better. Those three coming in from the left look too short to re-route without a junction box or two. If you want to tighten it up, take those three back to a location where you can mount an accessible (not covered by sheetrock) junction box, and run three new cables to that location through the framing to be cleaner. In any case that beam/header should not be drilled or notched so the wiring has to at least be on the surface there.
 
  #3  
Old 07-14-15, 08:50 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA - N.E.Tn
Posts: 47,837
Received 361 Votes on 318 Posts
No way do you want to sandwich the wires between the studs and the drywall!! The only choices are to reroute the wires reframe the wall so the wiring will be in a cavity or go with Ben's suggestion of leaving as it or painting to make it blend in.
 
  #4  
Old 07-14-15, 09:48 AM
O
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you guys for the feedback. I will do that, just leave the wire exposed - I was definitely swaying that direction. I didn't want to undertake rerouting the wires as I just wanted to do more of a quick sheetrock job to clean up the washroom. Painting it to blend it - great idea as well. Thank you!!
 
  #5  
Old 07-14-15, 11:03 AM
XSleeper's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 26,583
Received 791 Votes on 728 Posts
You could also frame the entire wall out by adding an additional 2x2 (1 1/2") before you drywall.
 
  #6  
Old 07-14-15, 04:51 PM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 4,963
Received 88 Votes on 83 Posts
Box around it with 2X3s then drywall over it.
Geo
 
  #7  
Old 07-14-15, 05:25 PM
A
Member
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 2,093
Received 69 Votes on 63 Posts
I am inclined to agree with George on this one; box and drywall around it. Xsleepr's idea would accomplish the same thing, but no need to lose the thickness of the additional framing on the entire wall. Either way, I would not paint it; not saying that there is anything wrong with it, have seen it done any number of times, but cables have identification stamped or printed on them, data such as size, etc., and I don't like concealing that from myself or the next guy or gal.
 
  #8  
Old 07-15-15, 02:47 PM
O
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
That's a great idea, ok, I think I am going to do that (boxing around it). That way it'll still be concealed. Thanks for the input guys!
 
  #9  
Old 07-15-15, 04:46 PM
O
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
We'll see what I'm ready to do lol
 
  #10  
Old 07-15-15, 07:18 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
You could even make it a mock cabinet with a door. That would make adding cables easy.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: