Whole house fan motor

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-15-15, 10:09 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Whole house fan motor

I'm trying to replace the motor to the whole house fan. The conduit wired to the old motor has red, white and black wires. The new motor came pretty wired with green, white and black. How do I rewire the new motor or connect the existing ones correctly?

Thank you
 
  #2  
Old 07-15-15, 10:21 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,582
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
What is the wiring at the timer.
 
  #3  
Old 07-15-15, 10:29 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I don't understand your question.
 
  #4  
Old 07-15-15, 10:36 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,582
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
There should be a switch or timer controlling the fan. The wires you are looking at probably come from there. It will give us more info about the wiring.
 

Last edited by ray2047; 07-15-15 at 12:09 PM. Reason: Clarification.
  #5  
Old 07-15-15, 11:34 AM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,943
Received 44 Votes on 42 Posts
Is it metal conduit and did the old fan have a LO and HI setting?
 
  #6  
Old 07-15-15, 12:23 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes it's metal conduit. It has a 3way toggle switch for high and low
 
  #7  
Old 07-15-15, 12:38 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I've not yet looked at the internal workings of the switch yet.
 
  #8  
Old 07-15-15, 01:30 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,582
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
I've not yet looked at the internal workings of the switch yet.
We don't need to know inside the switch just the wiring in the switch box.
 
  #9  
Old 07-15-15, 08:30 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,763
Received 97 Votes on 87 Posts
The new motor came pretty wired with green, white and black. How do I rewire the new motor or connect the existing ones correctly?
The old motor was evidently a 2-speed motor for Low and High, but it sounds as if the new motor isn't a 2-speed motor. How did you come up with the information to purchase a new motor? Are you sure you have the right motor? You possibly just need a variable speed control instead of the 2-speed control, but more information on the old and new motors is needed.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: