Troubleshooting new ceiling fixture

Old 07-15-15, 11:59 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Troubleshooting new ceiling fixture

Hi all, hoping to get some advice from any of you on a new wiring setup in an upstairs guest room. The room did not originally have an overhead light, just two switches -- one to control a wall receptacle, and the other two control the attic light which is accessed via this room. I have some very basic wiring knowledge, and have previously installed an overhead fixture in another guest room which was not set up which works fine.

In this room, rather than expanding to a 3-gang switchbox and going through the trouble of fishing new wire behind the wall, I opted to install a second switch between the attic light and its original switch, up in the attic. I installed a single gang box and switch along the original wire (house is wired with standard 2-wire & ground Romex). At this switchbox, I also ties in a new section to run to the newly installed ceiling junction box. I wired the hot wire for this new section with the hot coming from the guest room switch, and wired all neutrals and ground wires in this new switch box accordingly.

The attic light works fine. Of course I have to have both switches "on" to turn on the attic light, but that's not really a hassle to me.

We installed a brand new light fixture, and when testing it out the bulb blew. I checked all my wiring and that the proper bulb rating was used, which was all fine. To try and "double-check" my work, I wired a receptacle to the new ceiling box, to which I plugged in a lamp which works fine with the switch. We assumed the light fixture may have been flawed so the company replaced it for us.