Need current regulator for LED strip

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-18-15, 07:00 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 4
Need current regulator for LED strip

I want to drive 36V, 4.9A in a circuit of LEDs.

I found an LED driver which costs $75 (excl taxes and shipping), so I thought to regulate/create it myself.

If I buy a power switch like this power switch:
400W 36V 11A Single Output Switching Power Supply AC to DC SMPS | eBay


and add this PWM to regulate the current:
20A DC10 60V PWM HHO RC Motor Speed Regulator Controller Switch New | eBay

will I be able to have the 36V/4.9A?

I could regulate the voltage on the power switch and the current with a PWM attached to it. So if I am not wrong the system is:

110V (home outlet) -> power switch 36V/11A -> PWM 36V/4.9A -> Load (LED).

Is this correct?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-18-15, 09:12 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,468
I want to drive 36V, 4.9A in a circuit of LEDs.
That would mean you need to have a power supply that is 36 volts and at least 4.9A. You can use any amperage supply over the 4.9A.

You could use a 36v 50A power supply and the lights will still operate normally.

The amperage a power supply delivers can not be changed with an inline device. That PWM control you are showing will reduce the voltage from 0-36v but the current it supplies to the circuit is still 11 amps.
 

Last edited by PJmax; 07-18-15 at 09:50 AM. Reason: typo
  #3  
Old 07-18-15, 09:30 AM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 2,851
You need to find out whether the LED assemblies you have need supporting electronics as opposed to just a power supply providing 36 volts.

If you buy bare LEDs from an electronics supply or electronics hobby store then you need supporting electronics that might take the form of a specific LED driver or, in some cases, might take the form of a single resistor.

Constructing your own supporting electronics is an at least high school trade school level if not college undergraduate level course work.

Without the proper supporting electronics, LEDs could suddenly draw much more current than you think (subject to what the power supply can deliver) and they could burn out.
 
  #4  
Old 07-18-15, 09:52 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 4
is there anyway to regulate the current? or i am stack with 36V/11A?
 
  #5  
Old 07-18-15, 10:08 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,468
No.... there is no easy way to control the current coming from the power supply.

Is there a particular reason why you need to adjust the current ?
 
  #6  
Old 07-18-15, 10:48 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 4
I want to power up a LED strip.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'