Square D Homeline Tandom 20amp Breaker Questions


  #1  
Old 07-25-15, 02:33 PM
0
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Square D Homeline Tandom 20amp Breaker Questions

Doing some research on installing 3 new circuits into my garage.
1st circuit will be a dedicated line to a fridge in the garage
2nd circuit will be on the south wall and will have 5 Duplex outlets
3rd will be on the North wall with 4 Duplex outlets

Panel is a Square D panel with Homeline Tandom Breakers

I have never wired with this type of breaker and just want to be certain on installing it.

This is the breakers that I plan to use Square D Homeline 2-20 Amp Single-Pole Tandem Circuit Breaker-HOMT2020CP - The Home Depot

From what I can tell. It is 2 separate poles from the one breaker on the panel.

So I could do the North and south wall on one breaker but will be independent from each other due to this breaker.

then I will install another breaker for the dedicated line to the fridge and will have an open pole on breaker 2.

so questions are is the north and south walls okay to be through the same breaker?

And is it okay to leave one pole open on the second breaker?

Thanks for any help and pointers. and yes they will be 20 amp lines and I will be using 12-2 romex
 
  #2  
Old 07-25-15, 02:43 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 14,271
Received 860 Upvotes on 723 Posts
Make sue your panel is rated for the use of tandem breakers.

so questions are is the north and south walls okay to be through the same breaker?
Yes.

And is it okay to leave one pole open on the second breaker?
Yes, just mark it as spare in the index.
 
  #3  
Old 07-25-15, 04:08 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 13,970
Received 194 Upvotes on 170 Posts
Be sure to gfi protect the circuits.
 
  #4  
Old 07-26-15, 10:34 AM
0
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thank you and the panel is rated for the tandem breakers well at least that is what was installed when the house was built back in 2014.

and yes the first outlet in each run will be a GFCI outlet and then after the GFCI outlet i will tie the other outlets in via pigtails.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: