Is this wired correct?


  #1  
Old 07-27-15, 10:50 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 11
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Is this wired correct?

Single pole next to double pole light switch. Name:  image.jpg
Views: 489
Size:  35.0 KB
 
Attached Images  
  #2  
Old 07-27-15, 10:55 AM
S
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 19,222
Received 1,292 Upvotes on 1,229 Posts
Sorry, going to need a lot more information. Can you fill in the details?
 
  #3  
Old 07-27-15, 11:09 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
Single pole next to double pole light switch.
Double pole switches are not usually used on 120 volt circuits. Do you mean one switch is a 3-way (Single Pole Double Throw)?
 
  #4  
Old 07-27-15, 11:53 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 11
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I just wanted to change the cover. It looked scary in there. One single pole on the left. Double pole on the right. Double has 3 wires running into it. One one the 3 also run to the single pole on the left. Then finally one wire on the left single runs into the wall. I hope this makes sense. I just want to know if I should call someone to fix it.
 
  #5  
Old 07-27-15, 12:04 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 11
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Yes. Sorry for the terminology
 
  #6  
Old 07-27-15, 12:13 PM
S
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 19,222
Received 1,292 Upvotes on 1,229 Posts
It sounds like you have what Ray is describing - a single pole switch and a 3-way switch. Does another switch also control the fixture which is controlled by the one with 3 wires attached?

Also, does everything work as you think it should now and your concern is based solely on what you see inside this switch box?
 
  #7  
Old 07-27-15, 12:39 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,011
Received 210 Upvotes on 181 Posts
I think the feed is stripped in the middle and on the end. If this is your concern there is nothing to be concerned about.
 
  #8  
Old 07-27-15, 12:40 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 11
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Yes. There is another switch downstairs that controls it. For the stairwell light. Everything works yes. The building was built in 1924. So yes I was just wondering if it was ok by how it looked.
 
  #9  
Old 07-27-15, 12:43 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
For the age it looks fine. The less you handle the wires the better. The insulation can be a bit brittle.
 
  #10  
Old 07-27-15, 12:44 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,011
Received 210 Upvotes on 181 Posts
As long as the insulation is in good shape you should be fine.
 
  #11  
Old 07-27-15, 12:44 PM
S
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 19,222
Received 1,292 Upvotes on 1,229 Posts
I think everything is fine.
 
  #12  
Old 07-28-15, 01:38 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 11
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thanks guys. I will eventually have the place rewired...by a professional.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: