Is this wired correct?

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-27-15, 10:50 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 11
Is this wired correct?

Single pole next to double pole light switch. Name:  image.jpg
Views: 169
Size:  35.0 KB
 
Attached Images  
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-27-15, 10:55 AM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 18,516
Sorry, going to need a lot more information. Can you fill in the details?
 
  #3  
Old 07-27-15, 11:09 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,657
Single pole next to double pole light switch.
Double pole switches are not usually used on 120 volt circuits. Do you mean one switch is a 3-way (Single Pole Double Throw)?
 
  #4  
Old 07-27-15, 11:53 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 11
I just wanted to change the cover. It looked scary in there. One single pole on the left. Double pole on the right. Double has 3 wires running into it. One one the 3 also run to the single pole on the left. Then finally one wire on the left single runs into the wall. I hope this makes sense. I just want to know if I should call someone to fix it.
 
  #5  
Old 07-27-15, 12:04 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 11
Yes. Sorry for the terminology
 
  #6  
Old 07-27-15, 12:13 PM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 18,516
It sounds like you have what Ray is describing - a single pole switch and a 3-way switch. Does another switch also control the fixture which is controlled by the one with 3 wires attached?

Also, does everything work as you think it should now and your concern is based solely on what you see inside this switch box?
 
  #7  
Old 07-27-15, 12:39 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,357
I think the feed is stripped in the middle and on the end. If this is your concern there is nothing to be concerned about.
 
  #8  
Old 07-27-15, 12:40 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 11
Yes. There is another switch downstairs that controls it. For the stairwell light. Everything works yes. The building was built in 1924. So yes I was just wondering if it was ok by how it looked.
 
  #9  
Old 07-27-15, 12:43 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,657
For the age it looks fine. The less you handle the wires the better. The insulation can be a bit brittle.
 
  #10  
Old 07-27-15, 12:44 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,357
As long as the insulation is in good shape you should be fine.
 
  #11  
Old 07-27-15, 12:44 PM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 18,516
I think everything is fine.
 
  #12  
Old 07-28-15, 01:38 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 11
Thanks guys. I will eventually have the place rewired...by a professional.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'