Have a 200 amp meterbase and 100 amp breaker panel

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-10-15, 02:29 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 5
Have a 200 amp meterbase and 100 amp breaker panel

I recently tore down my old mobile home I was living in and replaced it with a newer model. My predicament is my old mobile home had a 200 amp breaker panel with a 200 amp meterbase and a 200 amp outdoor disconnect. The trailer I have now has a 100 amp breaker panel. Can I just change my outdoor disconnect to a 100 amp or do I have to rewire from the weatherhead to a new 100 amp meterbase with a new disconnect and to the breaker panel inside. Any help is greatly appreciated.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-10-15, 03:19 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,629
Is the disconnect a breaker box? If so install a 100 amp breaker to supply the mobile home.
 
  #3  
Old 08-10-15, 04:09 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 5
Ok. Thanks. I don't know how to post a picture on here of my outside panel. It's a 200 amp breaker with two wires in top from the meter base and then the two wires out the bottom that will run to the trailer. I ran the part number off that style breaker and a 100 amp breaker to change it over was going to be $140 dollars. But I can get a whole outside panel with a new 100 amp breaker for $60 at home depot.
 
  #4  
Old 08-10-15, 04:18 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,629
  #5  
Old 08-10-15, 05:16 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 3,114
Should be 4 conductors running to the mobil home from the meter if the disconnect is at the meter.
Geo
 
  #6  
Old 08-10-15, 05:39 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 5
Yea it's four wires. Two black, a green ,and a white stripe wire. Correct me if I'm wrong. But the two black wires will run from the disconnect to the main breaker on my inside panel, the white would tie into the ground bar, and the green is the neutral/common.im new to electrical work of this scale. Im on a tight budget since me wife is about to undergo a kidney transplant and i really need to save as much as i can by doin it myself.I was wondering if I change to 100 amp with a 200 amp meter if I'll melt everything down when I throw the power to it. I tried to upload a picture, but I am on here on a smartphone and it won't let me upload off of my phone. Thank you all for your advice
 
  #7  
Old 08-10-15, 05:49 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,429
If you replace the outside disconnect panel you will probably need to get the power company there to kill power at the meter so that you can change the panel.

It may be easier and cheaper to just install the 2P 100A breaker.

White goes to an insulated bar for neutrals and green goes to a bar connected directly to the panel for grounds.

Your smartphone picture is too large. You need to reduce the size. The board limit is 50Kb (600x600).
 
  #8  
Old 08-10-15, 05:54 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,629
the white would tie into the ground bar, and the green is the neutral/common
No. You have a bonded ground bar and an isolated neutral bar. White goes to the isolated neutral bar and green goes to the bonded ground bar. You will also need at least one ground rod. It will connect with a #6 wire to the ground bar along with all branch circuit grounds.
I was wondering if I change to 100 amp with a 200 amp meter if I'll melt everything down when I throw the power to it.
No. The meter only passes the current of the load.
 
  #9  
Old 08-11-15, 07:28 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,288
If the new mobile home has a 100A main breaker (which it should), all you need to do is run the existing 200A heavier wiring directly to that as long as it will fit in the lugs. The breaker at the pedestal can remain 200A. Look at the existing wiring for markings -- it should be #2/0 or #4/0 for 200A. Look at the new panel label and find the maximum wire size for the main breaker lugs. Let us know what you find and we can advise on the next steps.
 
  #10  
Old 08-11-15, 08:11 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 5
I just talked to my power provider. I have to have a 100 amp disconnect at the power pole before they will turn power on. I'm going to have to run new wire because the dozer operator ripped what was buried up and skint the wire up pretty good when they tore my old trailer down
 
  #11  
Old 08-12-15, 04:45 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 3,114
Where is the 200 Amp meter socket located?are you saying the POCO wants a 100 A disconnect before it ?
 
  #12  
Old 08-12-15, 05:10 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 5
Poco wants the disconnect to come after the meter.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'