RV 30amp Outdoor Circuit

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-11-15, 08:00 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: US
Posts: 2
RV 30amp Outdoor Circuit

I have an existing outdoor disconnect for a previous Hot Tub I had with what appears to be #6 wiring for a 30amp dual pole gfi breaker. Looking to install a 30amp circuit for my RV and ran 10/2 wiring in conduit about 70ft out to a post in the yard. I'm replacing the dual pole 30amp breaker with a single. Question: Can I use the existing #6 thick wire to the disconnect box and connect the 10/2 from there.. or do I need to run the 10/2 back to the breaker box? Getting the existing wires out and running the 10/2 into the house is going to be a pain.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-11-15, 08:04 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,587
The larger wires can stay.

What kind of cable was the 10-2?
 
  #3  
Old 08-11-15, 08:28 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: US
Posts: 2
Excellent!! Type NM-B with ground... is that what you're asking?
 
  #4  
Old 08-11-15, 09:12 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,050
Type NM-B with ground... is that what you're asking?
That is only okay if the disconnect is mounted on the house and the NM-b comes in to the back.
Looking to install a 30amp circuit for my RV and ran 10/2 wiring in conduit about 70ft out to a post in the yard.
If cable it must be UF but best practice would be to use individual conductors such as THWN. Cable is harder to pull.
 
  #5  
Old 08-12-15, 06:10 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,385
Type NM-B with ground... is that what you're asking?
Type NM-B cable is for indoor dry locations only and cannot be used outside the house. All outdoor conduit is considered wet locations whether above or below grade.

ran 10/2 wiring in conduit about 70ft out to a post in the yard.
That will need to be replaced preferably with Type THHN/THWN individual conductors.
 
  #6  
Old 08-12-15, 07:37 AM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 3,096
For now you can keep the #6 wiring to a junction box and extend the #10 UF (cable) or THWN (individual wires) underground from there. Use a 30 amp breaker at the panel for the #6 line.

At a later date you can put a subpanel where the #6 ends outside, add more breakered circuits from there, and up the rating of the panel breaker for the #6 line.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes