Questionable wiring job

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-13-15, 08:17 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: US
Posts: 114
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Questionable wiring job

There are some issues with this attic wiring that I wonder about:
1. Does a junction box need to be nailed to something or is it OK for it to be lying on insulation?
2. The panel feed is a 14-2 into the junction box but for some reason they ran some 12-2 out of it down to the switch. They also spliced into some 14-2 and taped that with black electrical tape. This 14-2 ran to another switch. Is that taped up splice OK?
3. I enclosed a pic of the switch with the 12-2 in it. The top of the switch is bent because the wires were too big for the box and had to be crammed in there. They were crammed in so tight that I noticed a section of wire had rubbed through to the Cu. Obviously, this is not good but I just wanted to give a clear idea of what's going on here.

Thanks for any help!
Name:  taped junction box.jpg
Views: 373
Size:  31.9 KB
Name:  12-2 and 14-2 spliced with tape.jpg
Views: 303
Size:  35.3 KB
Name:  bent switch.jpg
Views: 303
Size:  20.2 KB
Name:  frayed wire.jpg
Views: 284
Size:  28.4 KB
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-13-15, 08:25 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: US
Posts: 114
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
BTW, it's for a track light and ceiling fan on a 15 amp circuit.
 
  #3  
Old 08-13-15, 08:30 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
The junction box in the attic must be fastened and have a blank cover plate on it. Cables must be secured with cable connectors to the box. The box appears to exceed box fill limits. A better box would have been a 4" octagon. It is not a code violation to mix #12 and #14 if the breaker is 15 amps.. A taped splice outside a junction box is not allowed.

How many cables are in the switch box?
 
  #4  
Old 08-13-15, 09:30 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: US
Posts: 114
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Two 12-2 cables are in the switch box.
 
  #5  
Old 08-13-15, 10:50 PM
E
Member
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Philippines
Posts: 77
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
1. I guess it is better to replace the box. It doesn't have cover which unwanted things may go inside the box. Replace it with a junction box or octagonal box (if the wires are too big for the junction box) with cover so that you can prevent the latter for happening.

2. Inside the taped wire is a bare copper wire? It is better to keep the taped wire where not much people can access in that location. If you can, remove the taped wire and place the spliced wire in a splicing box/junction or square box.

3. Have a check with the rubbed section of the wire. The wires exposed may cause harm especially when no safety issues be done. You can have an electrical tape to cover it or replace it if you have much budget.
 

Last edited by engrkira; 08-13-15 at 11:11 PM.
  #6  
Old 08-13-15, 11:40 PM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 21,119
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
Hey, who snuck up in the attic of the house I'm selling?! All fixed now but that was pretty much what it looked like.
 
  #7  
Old 08-14-15, 06:14 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,638
Received 84 Votes on 74 Posts
Two 12-2 cables are in the switch box.
On one of those cables the yellow sheathing didn't even make it into the box and the conductors are exposed outside of the switch box. Don't let that happen with the new junction box.
 
  #8  
Old 08-15-15, 08:29 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: US
Posts: 114
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Can I attach junction boxes the either the top or the side of a joist?
Basically if it's on top it will be exposed and if it's on the side it will be under insulation. Here's what i mean:
Top:
Name:  joist top.jpg
Views: 184
Size:  29.2 KB

Side:
Name:  joist side.jpg
Views: 177
Size:  22.0 KB
 
  #9  
Old 08-15-15, 08:32 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: US
Posts: 114
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
A ceiling fan and light remote

What would be a good way to deal with this? The ceiling fan and light are separate but run off the same remote. The remote won't fit in the fan canopy so it's on top of the sheetrock. I imagine I should use some sort of enclosure for the wires.
Thanks!
Name:  remote and wires.jpg
Views: 226
Size:  34.2 KB
 
  #10  
Old 08-15-15, 08:54 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Mount a 4x4 box to the ceiling joist and move the two existing cables and remote into it. Put the wires outside of the ceiling box into the ceiling box and run a new cable from the 4x4 box to the ceiling box. Both boxes need cable connectors for all cables entering them.

Name:  BG.jpg
Views: 222
Size:  10.5 KB

Can't guarantee the remote will get a signal. You may need to test various arrangements such as bringing the antenna out of the 4x4 box.
 

Last edited by ray2047; 08-15-15 at 09:24 PM.
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: