KW or KVA


  #1  
Old 08-26-15, 10:23 PM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Philippines
Posts: 77
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
KW or KVA

So, I have an ACCU with 9.2 KVA. The electrical characteristics of the ACCU is 4.30 KW, single phase, 230 Volts. The question is what current should I use for sizing the breaker - the one from KVA or the one from KW.

I = 9.2 KVA/230 = 40 A

I = 4.3 KW/230 = 18.7 A
 
  #2  
Old 08-27-15, 06:10 AM
C
Member
Join Date: May 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 3,191
Received 176 Upvotes on 144 Posts
You have to use KVA for sizing the wiring and breaker.
 
  #3  
Old 08-27-15, 04:54 PM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5,094
Received 161 Upvotes on 147 Posts
What is ACCU? Sorry for asking a dumb question!
Geo
 
  #4  
Old 08-27-15, 06:30 PM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Philippines
Posts: 77
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
It's Ok now. I have used KVA to buy the breakers needed.

For your information, ACCU is Air Cooled Condensing unit.
 
  #5  
Old 08-27-15, 07:44 PM
B
Member
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New England
Posts: 9,460
Received 47 Upvotes on 43 Posts
engrkira, while you are explaining, another dumb question. Since VA = W, why the difference?

Bud
 
  #6  
Old 08-27-15, 08:08 PM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Philippines
Posts: 77
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I have 2 ratings here and I don't know what to use. Maybe you should read again. I know that in a single phase VA = W but then there are 2 ratings presented so I am asking questions. Read First before posting.
 
  #7  
Old 08-27-15, 08:21 PM
B
Member
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New England
Posts: 9,460
Received 47 Upvotes on 43 Posts
"Read First before posting." That isn't a very friendly reply, try again.

I did read and you didn't answer the question, yet you already bought a breaker. The breaker size should protect the wire and the wire and breaker should be large enough to not trip during normal operation.

What size wire did you install?

Bud
 
  #8  
Old 08-28-15, 04:51 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5,094
Received 161 Upvotes on 147 Posts
Why not just go by the mfg. requirements for wire and breaker size?
Geo
 
  #9  
Old 08-28-15, 04:51 AM
C
Member
Join Date: May 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 3,191
Received 176 Upvotes on 144 Posts
VA only equals watts with resistive loads. The full formula is KVA times Power Factor = KW. When you have inductive (or capacitive) loads like motors and fluorescent lighting, the current and voltage are not in phase. This phase difference is represented by the power factor. Resistive loads have a power factor of 1, but motors and the like will have a smaller power factor.

When you size the wiring for big inductive loads, such as the ACCU, you use the KVA rating because that tells you what the current flowing to the load will be, and it's the current that determines the wire size and breaker size needed.
 
  #10  
Old 08-28-15, 04:56 AM
B
Member
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New England
Posts: 9,460
Received 47 Upvotes on 43 Posts
Thanks CT. My electronics background never had to deal with motors and phase relationships, although I do understand them. Makes sense.

Bud
 
  #11  
Old 08-28-15, 04:31 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 14,428
Received 899 Upvotes on 760 Posts
I'm thinking the ACCU also has electric heat which is why the large difference between KVA and KW.
 
  #12  
Old 08-28-15, 05:54 PM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Philippines
Posts: 77
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Nice CT. Good explanation. I have used the KVA by the way.

Bud thanks too and sorry if my words offended you. Didn't mean anything with that.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: