outdoor hot tub wiring

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-27-15, 09:21 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 4
outdoor hot tub wiring

Hello, newbie here. Im trying to gather wiring for my outdoor spa.Iknow I need 6 gauge wire. I was gonna get 6-3 from home depot to run from my 220 service to a junction box where the wire will go outside. This is where im confused. I believe I need an insulated ground outside which forces me to get 4 seperate wires to go from tub to GFCI box then to the junction box mentioned above. I wanted to get the underground cable and just nail to the underside of my deck to get to the tub but it doesnt have an insulated ground. I cant bury in conduit because the deck is only a foot off the ground but I can get in there to nail to joists. Im so confused, any help would be great.



thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-27-15, 09:39 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,492
Welcome to the forums.

Yes... the ground needs to be insulated outside.

You could fasten conduit (PVC) to the bottom of the deck. That would be considered protected and would not need to be buried.

A picture of your deck there would be helpful too. http://www.doityourself.com/forum/el...rt-images.html
 
  #3  
Old 08-27-15, 09:41 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,359
If you can staple you should be able to hang conduit under the deck. Four #6 will fit in 3/4" pvc, but 1" will make an easier pull.
 
  #4  
Old 08-27-15, 11:28 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 4
The junction box coming from the house will be under a 3 season room. Thats where the regular 6-3 will end. Do I have to run conduit from that box to where it actually goes outside. Under the room is just dirt but its covered from rain and sun.
 
  #5  
Old 08-27-15, 12:04 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,296
Yes, all of the exterior portion of the run should be individual conductors in conduit. Liquidtight flexible exterior conduit is an option if running solid pipe under the floor is a prohibitively difficult exercise, however I would use at least 1" in that case. Switch to rigid PVC conduit for the underground portion, ideally using a pull box or condulet fitting. You can switch to liquidtight again for the final connection through the skirting to the tub power box.
 
  #6  
Old 08-27-15, 12:46 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 4
Can I run flexible conduit from the junction box under that room to the GFCI box and again from the GFCI box to the tub and just skip the PVC conduit?Im having issues putting pfotos on here
 
  #7  
Old 08-27-15, 01:28 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,659
  #8  
Old 08-27-15, 01:37 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,296
Maybe -- some areas have a length restriction of 6' of liquidtight. You would have to clear it with your inspector. Also LT cannot go underground, not sure when you said underground cable if you actually meant it was going underground or just underground rated. If the LT is just strapped to the underside of the decking it would be a legal install provided your region allows lengths greater than 6'.
 
  #9  
Old 08-27-15, 05:26 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 4
Yes it would be under my deck joists,The conduit would be about 20' to the GFCI box then another 10' to the tub.
 
  #10  
Old 08-27-15, 05:28 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,359
It will be easier to pul, the conductors into the rigid pvc versus the flex.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'