Outlet box height question...

Old 08-28-15, 08:13 PM
D
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Outlet box height question...

Hi folks!
Just closed and moved into my new home. It has a 20' X 20' detached garage that I plan to use as my recording studio/mancave. I
just got my permit from the city and have everything I need to run the 100 amp subpanel in the garage. I have all of the holes for the wiring already drilled out to accept the 12/2 wiring. Beings that I'm new to the state of Oregon the NEC codes in this area might be a little different than where I'm from (Kentucky)
The garage itself has a cement floor with an 8" concrete wall all the way around it with a 2X6' bottom plate to support the 2x4 walls on top of that bolted into the concrete.
My question is this: Do I measure from the cement floor up to code for my outlet boxes,or do I measure from where the 2x6 plate is up to code for the boxes? Any help from any fellow Oregonians out there (or anyone else of course ) would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance, Danguitarman

Old 08-28-15, 08:45 PM
Group Moderator
Received 3,922 Upvotes on 3,518 Posts
There really is no code for receptacle height.

When we wire a house or commercial...... the height is specified AFF..... above finished floor.
Receptacles are normally installed at least 15" to the bottom of the box.

Old 08-28-15, 09:21 PM
For my garage, I placed receptacles at switch height, about 48" from floor.

The important thing here is not to purchase a 100 watt Marshall Tube amp, it may disturb all connections.

Old 08-29-15, 12:02 AM
F
Received 38 Upvotes on 30 Posts