3 Whites, 1 Black? Back again with another outlet mystery

Old 08-30-15, 06:58 PM
O
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Cool 3 Whites, 1 Black? Back again with another outlet mystery

Greetings everyone,

I'm back again with another mystery from our new (to us) house.

House built in 1981, needs some outlet and light switch TLC.

Today i replaced the downstairs bathroom GFCI outlet and did the lights switches too, it went great! first time go.

But moving upstairs, the bathroom outlet there has produced a question for me.

What is this?

We have 3 wires going in the backstab holes in the back. Those 4 holes are labeled "WHITE", pretty clear. Then we have 1 seemingly black wire in the left right set of holes and the ground...

My question is this, what are the other 2 white wires? Did someone use the backstab ports to splice the extra whites (neutrals?) I sorta came to this as a possibility by googling... but im just not sure.

I'm still new to this, but i get the basic ideas. With only one hot line, seems this is surely not a middle run setup...

Any help would be super great...

Here is the back of the outlet in question, red box highlights WHITE labeled backstab ports with 3 wires.

Name:  damnitdinny1.jpg
Views: 4318
Size:  33.7 KB

P.S. the whole damn house is backstabs... yes, i'm fixing them and using screws on the new outlets and switches.

Old 08-30-15, 07:02 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 9 Upvotes on 8 Posts
Are the wires in conduit or cables? If cables, where are the other two black wires? Look deep back into the box and take a picture if necessary so we can see, too.

Old 08-30-15, 07:17 PM
O
Hey Chandler, i snapped this one earlier.

not sure if this rubber encasement is wire or conduit, there seems to be 3. in the same box is a single light switch which powers the vanity light above mirror (which you can see on the right)

Name:  Broomout1.jpg
Views: 4033
Size:  40.0 KB