Switched outlet in bathroom?

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-10-15, 03:35 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 33
Switched outlet in bathroom?

Remodeling a bathroom and have a couple of issues. To begin, there is a hidden splice that I know has to go away. I will be running all new 12-2 to the room. I have learned from this forum that I can run the switch and outlet on the same circuit, as long as I don't leave the room. Currently, the switch controls the only outlet (GFCI, of course). Is this acceptable, or must the outlet be always hot? If it is acceptable, is it recommended/good practice? Finally, there is a single plastic sheathed wire running from the light to copper plumbing as, I assume, a secondary ground. I think I saw on the forum that this is unnecessary/a bad idea. Should I keep or remove this extra ground?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-10-15, 04:15 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
Welcome to the forums! As a matter of code, it is acceptable. As a matter of convenience, I would not switch a receptacle in a bathroom. What if you wanted to charge your electric toothbrush, phone, or other appliances while you slept. You would have to leave the switch on. Unless the switch operated a light, I would not see a need in it operating just the receptacle. There should be no wiring from a light to a copper pipe. You can post a picture of this we may be able to determine better what needs to be done.

Back to your receptacle, bring your power in to it first then run the light switch from it.
 
  #3  
Old 09-10-15, 04:56 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,667
there is a single plastic sheathed wire running from the light to copper plumbing as, I assume, a secondary ground. I think I saw on the forum that this is unnecessary/a bad idea
Yes, it needs to be removed. If you bring power to the receptacle then the light remember best practice not to connect the light to the load side of the GFCI. Connect it to the line side. That way the light doesn't go out if you trip the GFCI.
 

Last edited by ray2047; 09-10-15 at 05:47 PM.
  #4  
Old 09-10-15, 05:34 PM
Handyone's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: U.S.
Posts: 5,451
I will be running all new 12-2 to the room
Will this new cable come from your service panel? It sounds like it will since you mentioned the "extra" ground that needs eliminated.
Once you run a new circuit to the bathroom you have many options, most mentioned above.
The important thing is to have a true grounded cable for your source power.
 
  #5  
Old 09-11-15, 08:48 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 33
It will come from the service panel, eventually. I have an old Pushmatic box that I will be replacing due to lack of space and age. Right now there is one line from the panel handling 3 bedrooms, a hallway and a bath and a half. It is my plan to put each room on its own junction box still using this power line first. I will then run a line to the panel from each junction box when I bring in an electrician to replace the panel.
 
  #6  
Old 09-11-15, 08:54 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 33
The switch does control the light as well. I should have included that in my initial post.
 
  #7  
Old 09-11-15, 09:00 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,667
Best to not have the receptacle on the switch.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'