DC fan, wall switch .. is it possible?

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-10-15, 05:21 PM
V
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
DC fan, wall switch .. is it possible?

Hello all,

Is it possible to control a DC fan with a wall switch?

I heard from a retailer that DC fans are only controllable via remote controls...I hope that's not completely accurate.

Thanks,
 
  #2  
Old 09-10-15, 05:38 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,772
Received 1,322 Votes on 1,222 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

We need a little more information.

A DC fan can be controlled with anything you want..... even a wall switch.
However.... you can not feed 120vac from a regularly wired wall switch to a DC fan.
 
  #3  
Old 09-10-15, 05:49 PM
V
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
OIC. Thanks PJ.

The condo was built in '85 and has concrete ceilings with an existing wall controlled AC fan.

From the looks of it, three wires come out of the ceiling where the fan is.

I thought maybe there was some sort of TRU (transformer rectifier unit) available orrrrr...hell, I dunno.

I sure like the looks of the DC fans but I maybe SOL.
 
  #4  
Old 09-10-15, 05:59 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Please post links to the fans you are considering.
 
  #5  
Old 09-10-15, 07:41 PM
V
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The one I specifically had in mind was the TroposAir Titan

I probably should get more flexible but I haven't seen anything in that similar taste that I like so much.
 
  #6  
Old 09-10-15, 07:49 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,772
Received 1,322 Votes on 1,222 Posts
Looks like a nice fan. Glad you left the link. The fan motor is DC but you connect the unit to standard 120vac power.

At Amazon...click on "see more product information" and you'll see....

Name:  fan.JPG
Views: 2218
Size:  13.0 KB
 
  #7  
Old 09-10-15, 08:04 PM
V
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Oh wow... thanks for that! I was going based solely on the rep at Dan's Fan City ... lesson learned.

Do you think a wall switch like this switch will work fine?
 
  #8  
Old 09-10-15, 08:21 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,772
Received 1,322 Votes on 1,222 Posts
The fan you are looking at has its own remote.

That wall switch you linked to is a wall mounted remote switch and a receiver. That receiver would need to go inside the fan. I don't know if it will work on that fan..... as I don't see any extra room for mounting it.

Why not use the remote it comes with ?
 
  #9  
Old 09-10-15, 09:16 PM
V
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for all the input PJ.

I didn't realize the switch I linked to was a remote and receiver.

I'm looking to turn on/off the fan light & control fan speed by the wall switch....maybe that's not possible.

The fan is going in a rental unit and I would rather the tenants not have access to the remote...just don't want it lost.
 
  #10  
Old 09-10-15, 10:30 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
You would need to ask the manufacturer. Wall speed switch are designed to control AC motors how they would work with a DC fans power supply is hard to predict.
 
  #11  
Old 09-10-15, 11:22 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,772
Received 1,322 Votes on 1,222 Posts
Ray actually reminded me of something..... I'm pretty sure the remote receiver and DC power supply are an integral assembly. That means you can't remove the internal remote.

I'm also not sure if the DC motor fans have remote memory. That means if you don't use the supplied remote to turn it on...... it won't come on.

That's an expensive fan. Pretty serious for a rental unit. If it were me I'd buy a spare remote. The tenant loses it...... you sell them a new one.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: