What flex cable to use in wet environment?

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-11-15, 12:34 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Canada, Quebec
Posts: 1,344
What flex cable to use in wet environment?

I need to run some cable from an outside timer to power another receptacle (the second is more like an extension).
What type of electric cable can I use for this?
Wet location flexible?
It's a wall in use cover connected to a timer, which I will context to another receptacle with in use cover for gutter cable.

Or some kind of pipe between them?
http://postimg.org/image/sib8ufisp/
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-11-15, 01:32 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,058
Your link is a pay-to-see link. Either UF-b buried 24" or conduit with individual conductors buried 18". If the amps are 20 or less and there is GFCI protection at the beginning of the feed either can be one foot.
 
  #3  
Old 09-11-15, 02:05 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Canada, Quebec
Posts: 1,344
Hmm. If you click cancel then it should show further down page.
Does it have to be minimum 1 ft long?
I'm not burying this cable, it runs from a gfci wall outlet to a weatherproof timer and then I need to connect 2 gutter cables (plugs not weather proof but probably W rated).
 
  #4  
Old 09-11-15, 02:25 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,058
Does it have to be minimum 1 ft long?
No buried a minimum of one foot if GFCI. It would be a trip hazard to run it on the ground and violate the code requirement for protection. If we are talking a distance of five feet or less you could use individual conductors in Sealtite (weather proof flexible conduit). Pictures would help. (I tried your site again and it still wants me to join.)
 
  #5  
Old 09-11-15, 02:58 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Canada, Quebec
Posts: 1,344
Try this: View image: Screenshot 2015 09 11 16 56 18
It needs to be mounted on cladding on a back wall of a house... nothing buried. The grey cable in the picture should be what type of wire if outside?

Name:  Screenshot_2015_09_11_16_56_18.jpg
Views: 73
Size:  22.1 KB[ATTACH]
 

Last edited by ray2047; 09-11-15 at 03:53 PM. Reason: Add image.
  #6  
Old 09-11-15, 03:49 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,058
The box in your picture is not suitable for use outside. You will need a weather proof box

Name:  box.jpg
Views: 123
Size:  18.9 KBand an in use cover. Name:  cover.jpg
Views: 82
Size:  28.3 KB

At the existing box surface mount a single gang waterproof PVC box over the existing box.

Name:  pACE3-15560876enh-z7.jpg
Views: 99
Size:  14.1 KB

Connect the two boxes with PVC conduit and run THWN wire between them. It would be mounted between the two receptacle boxes.

Problem is that timer may not be suitable for outdoor use and i see no safe way to connect it. I'd suggest hard wiring a weatherproof timer instead or a box mountable programmable timer in a single gang box with in use cover.
 

Last edited by ray2047; 09-11-15 at 04:09 PM.
  #7  
Old 09-11-15, 05:38 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Canada, Quebec
Posts: 1,344
Thanks.
I'm not 100% clear.
The existing wall gfci receptacle is a single gang with in use cover. The timer says it is weather proof but then it hangs outside the in use cover.
How do I take a PVC conduit from the timer into the new gang box so I can plug multiple devices into the timer?
The timer only has space for one receptacle.
 
  #8  
Old 09-11-15, 06:04 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,058
I said I didn't think the timer could be used.
The timer says it is weather proof
But the male fitting has no way to protect a plug that is in it from the weather.
How do I take a PVC conduit from the timer into the new gang box so I can plug multiple devices into the timer?
You can't. That is the second reason why it can't be used and why I wrote:
I'd suggest hard wiring a weatherproof timer instead or a box mountable programmable timer in a single gang box with in use cover.
 
  #9  
Old 09-12-15, 08:01 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Canada, Quebec
Posts: 1,344
This is the timer... it says rain proof...
I know what you're saying, a plug goes into it so how can it be fully rain proof. The receptacle on the timer seems to be quite deep/recessed




 
  #10  
Old 09-12-15, 08:28 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,058
I am not comfortable using that timer in the manner you want to use it. It is probably okay if used with a single plug as intended but you want to increase its capacity to multiple plugs. That I don't see a really good way to do. Perhaps someone else can help you. My only suggestion would be to put every thing in a large water proof box. If you used a commercially available box for electrical work it might be rather expensive or you could build one but of course home built would not be a UL improved enclosure and might violate local code.
 

Last edited by ray2047; 09-12-15 at 08:51 AM.
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes