splitting circuit in attic

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-18-15, 08:23 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 163
splitting circuit in attic

I want to split a large 15A circuit into two. I've tracked how the circuit is run through the attic. I want to cut the circuit in the middle and use a metal box to connect it to a new 15A circuit.
1. What do I do with the end of the old 15A circuit that I cut? Can I just terminate it in another metal box and twist some wire connectors on the ends of the conductors?
2. I have left-over 12-2 wire. Can my new home run use 12-2 wire and be connected to a 15A breaker? Or is it better to just go buy some 14-2?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-18-15, 08:27 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,296
The circuit must end in a junction box, so you can either add a new one in the attic or trace it back to the last one it left and disconnect it there then push the abandoned, deenergized section of wire out into the wall/ceiling cavity.

You can make the home run with either #12 or #14 wire while keeping a 15A breaker. The slight danger in using #12 is that a future worker might see the #12, assume it should be a 20A circuit, and unwittingly upsize the breaker. If you do use the #12, it would be good practice to make a note in the panel that it feeds #14 later in the circuit.
 
  #3  
Old 09-18-15, 10:22 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 163
Ok, sounds good. Thank you!
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'