Is this outside wiring safe?

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-19-15, 04:04 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 2
Is this outside wiring safe?

Hello. My wife and I have a small Camper on the back property of my father's house. He's a strong minded stubborn man that has to do things how he wants which is usually as cheap as possible. He has ran electricity to our camper from a barn. We got a small outside breaker panel attached to a pole that has one 30 amp and one 20 amp breaker. He ran 110. Wiring overhead into the barns old fuse panel (it has round plug like fuses) and designated a 30 amp fuse to the camper. Now the complete barns fuse panel is ran into the house central breaker panel and has a 30 amp fuse designated for it. We keep breaking the house 30 amp fuse panel that is designated to the barn. I cannot stand the thought of this setup! But I'm not confident in saying it's a bad setup as I'm more familiar with DC electricity than AC (in an auto tech by trade). What do you guys think? Before I investigated how he has this wiring done I noticed that the camper outlets won't work correctly. Almost like some tools are not getting enough power and also the Air conditioning does not work correctly. Thanks and sorry for this long question.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-19-15, 04:13 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,050
Welcome to the forums.

It sounds like the 30A circuit running to the barn just isn't large enough to support the load. The other problem is that if there is any great length to the wiring.... it is probably undersized for even a 30A load.

If the wiring is indeed 30A wiring and is protected at 30A then technically it should be safe.
There isn't much else we can tell you. You'd have to give us feet of wire, size of the wire, pictures of the equipment, etc. for us to advise any further.

It also sound like your father is not interested in increasing the wiring size but that may be exactly what's needed.
 
  #3  
Old 09-19-15, 04:23 PM
Temporarily Suspended
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 10,986
A 30 amp breaker is too small, if you have a refrigerator, AC & a microwave.

Is your screen name an intended play on words? Illusi translates as delude, deluded or deceive
 
  #4  
Old 09-19-15, 08:18 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 2
Name is just something I put together years ago. Forget the reason behind it but I just enjoy the sound mostly. Camper uses electric heat, AC, microwave, refrigerator and lights. The wiring is 12-2 110 indoor wiring (it's yellow and from Lowe's). Distance from barn to camper is about 50 feet but he's got a lot of extra just strung around in the barn ceiling. I believe it was a 100 foot roll he bought and he used almost all of it. I don't know why. I wanna shorten it up, and add a cable from barn to pole with outdoor wiring wrapped around the cable so it can be shortened and be stronger. Maybe increase wire size as well. Thanks.
 
  #5  
Old 09-19-15, 08:33 PM
Temporarily Suspended
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 10,986
The entire thing should be redone. with the proper sub panel, breakers & circuits. All that can't be run, from one 30 amp breaker.
 
  #6  
Old 09-19-15, 08:47 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
I agree with a redo. 12-2 on a 30 amp breaker in normal ranges is over protected and under wired. Adding your length really stretches the 12-2's ability not to become a fuse.
 
  #7  
Old 09-19-15, 09:09 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,275
Indoor NM cable (yellow) is not allowed outside or buried in the ground. As the others have mentioned, it needs to be #10 wires for a 30 amp circuit. The length is not really an issue.
 
  #8  
Old 09-19-15, 09:19 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,587
General receptacle and lighting circuits cannot be on a 30 amp circuit. 20 amps maximum.
 
  #9  
Old 09-20-15, 04:27 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
Length of run was mentioned due to possible voltage drop issues. I see he mentioned only 50' so non issue.
 
  #10  
Old 09-20-15, 07:17 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,275
A 30 amp 120volt RV hookup on a post would be the best option. A dedicated circuit would be ideal based on the equipment you are running.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes