Wiring of rooms

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-23-15, 08:15 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 4
Wiring of rooms

I just bought a house and have stripped the basement of paneling (old lady owned the house). First off it seems her husband thought he was an electrician and wired the majority of the basement with threaded extension cords (which I have cleaned up) However here is my question. I am thinking about rewiring the entire house mostly because of what I have thusfar. Therefore, here is my question wiring to the outlets on the main floor run threw the basement and are on one breaker. Then all the ceiling lights run through the attic and run on another breaker. Is that to code? I was always under the impression that the ceiling was the j box to all the outlets in the room. Please advise.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-23-15, 08:36 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,643
wiring to the outlets on the main floor run threw the basement and are on one breaker. Then all the ceiling lights run through the attic and run on another breaker. Is that to code?
It meets current code if it does not include the bathroom receptacles or kitchen receptacles or any outside receptacles. Even if it includes kitchen or bath receptacles it may have met code at the time of construction and therefore is grandfathered.
I was always under the impression that the ceiling was the j box to all the outlets in the room.
It was but not for a few tens of years. Daisy chaining has been the common practice since probably late '40s or early '50s.
 
  #3  
Old 09-23-15, 08:41 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,354
If you are thinking about rewiring there is little need to follow what was there. Circuit requirements and wiring methods have changed since your house was wired.
 
  #4  
Old 09-23-15, 09:18 AM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 18,513
Now is certainly the easiest time to add circuits and other types of wiring (coax, ethernet) to meet the needs you see in the future as well.
 
  #5  
Old 09-23-15, 12:04 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 4
So do you believe I should rewire from the ceiling down? Or still run the cables for the main floor outlets through the basement?
 
  #6  
Old 09-23-15, 12:45 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,292
The direction you run should be decided more by where you have the best access for running cable chases. For a variety of reasons it is no longer good practice to bring power to the ceiling box and then branch down to receptacles (so called "star topology"). Circuits are typically run from box-to-box, with most boxes having one cable in, one cable out.
 
  #7  
Old 09-23-15, 12:55 PM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 18,513
Box fill is more likely to be an issue if you run from the ceiling down.
 
  #8  
Old 09-23-15, 12:56 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 4
We since I have stripped the basement it is probably the easiest access point for all the outlets. However it would make sense to wire the outlet then break drywall to get to the outlet on the other side. Unless I go through the basement beams right
 
  #9  
Old 09-23-15, 01:19 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,292
I would recommend you find a book called Wiring Simplified. It's cheap and a quick read and will give you some of the practical electrical design education you need to start your project. Rewiring an old house is within your reach, but you need to build a level of knowledge that forum-based Q&A on one topic at a time can't deliver.
 
  #10  
Old 09-23-15, 01:26 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 4
Perfect well thanks so much for the help here guys it had given me a better few and thanks for the recommendation I will look into it!!!
 
  #11  
Old 09-23-15, 01:48 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,643
However it would make sense to wire the outlet then break drywall to get to the outlet on the other side
Breaking drywall never makes sense. Minimal cutting with a stab saw occasionally. In most cases though existing boxes can be removed without damaging the Sheetrock to provide access for fishing then replaced with old-work boxes with no need for patching the Sheetrock.

In a retrofit from a gutted basement I wouldn't run the wires horizontally in the upstairs wall. I would run them up to the receptacle then back down to the basement and on to the next receptacle. A little more cable but no damage to the Sheetrock to repair.
 
  #12  
Old 09-23-15, 06:20 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,354
I'm too agree with running the cable up the wall from the basement. Use the basement instead of drywall cuts.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'