Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

Extending Interconnected Smoke Detectors - Okay to use 12/2?

Extending Interconnected Smoke Detectors - Okay to use 12/2?

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-24-15, 11:47 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 185
Extending Interconnected Smoke Detectors - Okay to use 12/2?

I am looking to extend my existing interconnected smoke/CO detectors into the bedrooms. The one in the hall has 12/3 that runs to the downstairs. I have switched to a wireless interconnected system, and they do not use the red traveler wire. Would there be an issue with running 12/2 for the new locations? Is there any code violation? I wasn't sure if smoke detector locations had to have 12/3. I already have spare 12/2, but I can buy new romex if necessary. I appreciate any input.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-24-15, 12:06 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,292
As far as I know the interconnect wire is required and wireless interconnected devices are approved for retrofit applications only, not new installations.
 
  #3  
Old 09-24-15, 12:22 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 185
I'm using the Nest smoke detectors, which are a newer product. They just released the second generation, which apparently fixed some of the issues. Are you saying that I can't use them for new locations in the bedrooms? I didn't realize that.
 
  #4  
Old 09-24-15, 12:59 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,292
You would have to verify with your local building inspector, I work in a couple jurisdictions where wireless interconnects are not allowed.
 
  #5  
Old 09-24-15, 01:10 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,439
The idea behind interconnected smoke detectors is when one goes off..... they all sound at the same time. Some of the wireless system smoke detectors have their own sounder, report when there is a fire but don't have interconnected sounders.
 
  #6  
Old 09-24-15, 01:40 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 185
That's exactly what these do. They just don't rely on the traveler wire for communication.
 
  #7  
Old 09-24-15, 04:37 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,439
Cool.... in that case it would be best to run it by the building or fire sub code official.
 
  #8  
Old 09-24-15, 05:20 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,354
If you need to run cable anyway, the wired interconnects are way cheaper.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'