Okin lift chair transformer


  #1  
Old 09-30-15, 03:16 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 8
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Okin lift chair transformer

How do i test if im getting the right voltage on a Okin transformer .
where do i put the positive probe and the negative probe too from my
Digital Multimeter..??





Thanks

Janet
 
  #2  
Old 09-30-15, 05:00 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,638
Received 4,089 Upvotes on 3,672 Posts
I added "lift chair" to the title as many don't recognize the Okin name.

What is the model/part number of that supply ?
I'm familiar with the two pin but not the three pin system.

On edit:

That looks to be an Okin 6235 supply with possible battery backup
The voltage should be 24vdc.
Check between all three pins. Two of the pins should give you the +24vdc.
 

Last edited by PJmax; 09-30-15 at 05:13 PM. Reason: additional info
  #3  
Old 10-06-15, 08:28 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 8
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Hi Pete

Heres the actual pic of it.
So the neg/ Com probe i place on the outter rin. and then the postive into each inner probe pin. ?

Ohh i forgot on the multimeter where do i point the dail to ?










Thank you
 
  #4  
Old 10-06-15, 10:20 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,638
Received 4,089 Upvotes on 3,672 Posts
The model number of that adapter is 3.00.207.037.00
It is a dual output power supply..... 12 VAC and 25 VDC.

Name:  20151006_111434_zpsw2oms77d.jpg~original.jpg
Views: 851
Size:  32.0 KB

I marked a picture of your meter.
Put it into 300v AC and check between all the pins. You should find 12 vac between two pins.
Put it into 300v DC and check between all the pins. You should find 25 vdc between two pins.
(voltages are approx and may not be exact)

If one or both are not present..... then the supply is defective.

Name:  meter.jpg
Views: 833
Size:  28.9 KB
 
  #5  
Old 10-06-15, 05:32 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 8
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
But the com port where do i place that too. ??
 
  #6  
Old 10-06-15, 06:06 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
But the com port where do i place that too
Black probe to the [Com]mon jack and red probe to the red volt jack. If measuring DC black (com) is negative and red positive. For AC polarity doesn't apply. The probes are interchangeable.
 
  #7  
Old 10-09-15, 01:38 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 8
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I mean where exactly do i put the black probe too. ?
I know the red goes inside each pin hole .. But the black probe do i place it on the outter rim.. See pic.

 
  #8  
Old 10-09-15, 01:41 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,638
Received 4,089 Upvotes on 3,672 Posts
The red and black probes both get inserted into the plug. The metal shell is likely no connection.
 
  #9  
Old 10-10-15, 03:43 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 8
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thank you everyone..
Looks like i need a new transformer..
 
  #10  
Old 10-10-15, 04:47 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,638
Received 4,089 Upvotes on 3,672 Posts
Did you find one voltage but not the other ?
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: